We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold nugget of a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro by the Bay

Bistro by the Bay
2 James Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1T2, Canada
+1 705-746-3712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Grill, Bistro, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hello and welcome to our Bistro By The Bay web site. We are located at 2 James Street in Parry Sound, Ontario, near the port facilities. Our "on-the-deck" dining experience provides a pleasing view of the Seguin River rapids as well as the nearby Georgian Bay port itself. Indoor seating is also available, of course. We are pleased to offer our valued customers a fine dining menu that includes shrimp and mussels in six different sauces, pickerel, salmon, cornish hen, stuffed pork, fall off the bone ribs, some wonderful pastas, and a variety of delicious homemade desserts. We also provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gold nugget of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Dined there with the whole family to celebrate my daughter's graduation. We all tried different dishes and were all completely satisfied. The staff and atmosphere was very relaxing and intimate. Our compliments to the chef and his kitchen staff for an excellent meal! Definitely worth checking out if you're looking for for a new experience in fine dining! :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed lunch in this restaurant, next to the waterfront, with outdoor seating and friendly service. The meal was excellent quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a banquet burger. Huge portion. Delicious homemade burger. Real cheddar.
Also tried pulled pork sliders and yummy too.
Definitely worth a visit in Port Perry.
Just a warning though, No Amex accepted here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Lunch in Parry Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I looked up the restaurant reviews and saw that Bistro by the Bay ranked first in Parry Sound. We tried it and we now agree that it is a good choice. The Bistro is quite small and was busy during this Friday lunch period. We were offered a table in the bar area or one on the heated patio. We stayed inside and although the wait for our meal was a little long, we greatly enjoyed both of our meals (pickerel and a blackened chicken sandwich). The staff was very friendly. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Since two weeks I have travelled through the Georgian Bay Area and because of the good references I decided to go to this restaurant. Let me bring it to the point: I went there for dinner, had the Lake Trout and the white house wine and it was the best fish I have had so far! The staff was really friendly, although I was alone and many reservations had been made, they offered me a large table. If I will return to Parry Sound one day, I will definitely go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro by the Bay also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Bistro by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.