We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality in the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenn Burney Lodge

Glenn Burney Lodge
49 Glenn Burney Road, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada
705 746 5943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 restaurants in Parry Sound
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“quality in the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had the family dine in one night as we were staying here. When you have 7 people dine and everyone raved about their meal speaks volumes. My one son trained to be a chef and we are very discerning. We had a range of food from poutine to wings to steak , shrimp, halibut steamed with veggies, and rice in parchment paper. Quality an portions great. Finished the meal and they let my son take a guitar off the wall and he played some acoustic Zeppelin for a finale. All this in a 30ish rustic setting. Tell me where can you pull that off. Great time and thanks to a great staff. oh yeah after that we had wine by the outdoor fire pit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    25
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Passion and perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

In a lodge restored with dramatic 1st Nation's art,passion and perfection for cuisine,wine,cocktails are evident...the sunsets across the bay from the dining room windows,set the mood ,be sure to take home some of their delish pesto,preserves,and granola I wish we could have stayed longer and eaten our way through the menu!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Glenn-Burney Restaurant, Parry Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We'd checked into the Glenn-Burney Lodge for a weekend to check out the fall colours of Northern Ontario. I'd been to the Parry Sound area and always found it difficult to get a good meal. Not a lot of choices. So happy to find the restaurant at the Lodge served one of the best meals I've had since coming up here. We started with a very fresh Salad and a Paan bread topped with cheese, olives, tomatoes, basil....it was sort of like a pizza but not. Considering the brisk but sunny fall day we both decided to order the beef stew. Wow! Sumptuous! They made with barley and topped it off with a dollop of sour cream. Delicious. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff. Great restaurant. Great boat ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We heard about this place from friends who had their wedding here and made a special trip to check it out. The staff (Zach and Graham) greeted us with a glass of Champagne. We made dinner reservations (will review that separately but it was great) and took a boat ride out on the lake. There are guided jet ski tours available apparently but it was a bit chilly. The trip lasted over three hours and we saw everything from narrow channels to a body of water you couldn't see across. We will be back next summer to do it again when the weather warms up! Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Did not expect this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nestled in the pines. Interesting mix of cottagey cabin with a modern kitchen.

Electric guitars and moose heads both hang on the walls in the dining room.

Warm and inviting. Great menu. We had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenn Burney Lodge also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Glenn Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenn Burney Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.