We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Parry Sound

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Parry Sound to your Saves list
Knights Inn Parry Sound
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72 James st, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A1T5, Canada (Formerly Best Rates Inns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Parry Sound
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The location in downtown Parry Sound was great, with just a short walk to the waterfront. The hotel was fairly basic but good value. The dismal winding corridor, from the restaurant to the room was a bit strange for the main access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
6
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrickville, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this particular hotel several times over the past few years. Our last stay occurred during some nasty weather while tenting it at our friend’s cottage this past summer. We headed into town during the day to escape the rain and get some rest. The hotel has made some big improvements since we last stayed.
The most noticeable improvements are the beds; they were outstanding! I have stayed in many hotels and unless I am suffering from all-out exhaustion; I seldom get a great night’s sleep. That was no problem this time, both my wife and I were out like a light and both enjoyed a luxuriously sound rest. The beds felt like they just rolled in off the showroom floor; from the mattresses to the pillows and duvets. Awesome beds!
In addition to the new beds, there was a large HD TV, a Tassimo coffee maker and new towels. Overall some great improvements on a hotel we already enjoy staying at. If you haven’t stayed there, it is the best choice we have made in Parry Sound. We also like the fact that there is a Don Cherry’s Sports Grill (with great wings) conveniently attached to the building. Amazing value for the money; we’ll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were passing through Parry Sound and needed a place to stay for one night. I have to admit when we saw the Knights Inn we were dubious. The location is on a corner in town, no view of the water, but we were happily surprised.
The parking lot at the Inn is very cramped but there is another parking lot around the back. Be prepared to either drop off your suitcase first or wheel it down the street. There is a restaurant attached to the Inn that carries the smell of many meals over the years in the carpets.

Nevertheless, once we reached our room, we were delighted to see that the most important aspects had been upgraded. There was a heavenly king bed complete with soft pillows and duvet and the washroom had also been renovated to provide us with a hot shower.

I applaud the staff for realizing their niche. No one is likely going to stay a week or two at the Knights Inn. But if you need an inexpensive, comfortable room on your way to another destination, this is a good place to lay your head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is probably my 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel (including when it was Best Rates and something else before that ages ago), and they have made some amazing improvements since I was here last year. First of all...probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. I must have been one of the first people in since the renos were finished, because everything was extremely clean and the duvets seemed fresh right out of the store.

I was surprised to see an HD big-screen TV wall-mounted in the room...very nice. The room even had a Tassimo coffee system! I'm used to seeing even bigger, pricier hotels having the same old Mr. Coffee machine...not here. They are definitely not skimping on in-room amenities.

There is still a slightly musty smell in the hallways, but then again, it was about 40 degrees Celsius with high humidity when I was there. Very comfortable in the rooms with the A/C on, though. Bathrooms weren't as modern-looking as the main room, but perfectly functional.

Staff was very friendly. Have to agree with other reviews commenting on small parking lot. there is additional parking around back I guess, but I like to park in front of my room.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are so glad to hear that you have seen our hotel going through all of the improvements that we have made! We are currently upgrading our carpets, among other things, but we really do offer the most comfortable beds around, and with the big tv and Tassimo machines to improve the comfort of each stay, we strive to be your number ONE choice in Parry Sound.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you need a place to stay in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I dont really post things online but thought I would here. We stayed here and were quite pleased. When we travel we look for a restaurant near the hotel or part of the same place and it was good. Overall our stay was really comfortable. Loved the bed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are very happy that you made an exception for us and posted this review! We strive to make our guests happy and comfortable, so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and comfy bed! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are travelling to Parry Sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Extremely disappointed with our recent overnight here.

Budget motel on main street with tiny car park area infront of motel style rooms. Access through corridors - old and very dirty carpet.

+ve - king bed was comfortable

-ves - very noisy airconditioning unit, noisy neighbours, broken tap, no plug for the bath, tired and worn furniture and fittings, dirty carpets and peeling wallpaper. Towels were old and threadbare. No breakfast available - told to go down the road, no wifi.

Stayed here for one night as everywhere else was booked up. Would not recommend or stay here again. Avoid unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Firstly I want to thank you for your review, We always want to see how our guests view our Hotel, while we didnt meet your expectations I can assure that we are always working to make our property better. Aside from brand new high-end beds (We were just voted as having the "Best Beds" in Parry Sound), we just went through a bunch of new renovations including carpet upgrades, Tassimo Coffee Makers, 39" Flat screens TV's and much more.

I wanted to point out that we do have a large parking area around the building and FREE WiFi throughout the entire Hotel and Restaurant.

We are proud of our little Hotel and want you to know that everything you have told us about has been addressed right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best hotel beds I have ever slept on.
Hotel was clean and comfortable.
Staff was very welcoming.
Located right downtown Parry Sound only a few minutes walk to the water.
"Don Cherry's Restaurant" is attached to the hotel and has wonderful food. Very tasty!!

Only 2 small issues:
1. The hotel front entrance was hard to find. They should put up some easy to read signs.
2. Would be better to have hotel windows that open instead of recycled air.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Parry Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Parry Sound

Address: 72 James st, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A1T5, Canada (Formerly Best Rates Inns)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Parry Sound 1.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebranded hotel which includes upgraded rooms that have 39" flat screen LED TV's coupled with Simmons Cape Breton pillow top King and Queen sized mattresses. Tassimo coffee machines in every room, and Don Cherry's Sports Grill restaurant with interior corridor access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Parry Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Parry Sound
Travel Lodge Parry Sound
Parry Sound Travelodge
Parry Sound Travel Lodge
Knights Inn Parry Sound Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Parry Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.