We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Parry Sound

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Parry Sound to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Knights Inn Parry Sound
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72 James st, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A1T5, Canada (Formerly Best Rates Inns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Merrickville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is probably my 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel (including when it was Best Rates and something else before that ages ago), and they have made some amazing improvements since I was here last year. First of all...probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. I must have been one of the first people in since the renos were finished, because everything was extremely clean and the duvets seemed fresh right out of the store.

I was surprised to see an HD big-screen TV wall-mounted in the room...very nice. The room even had a Tassimo coffee system! I'm used to seeing even bigger, pricier hotels having the same old Mr. Coffee machine...not here. They are definitely not skimping on in-room amenities.

There is still a slightly musty smell in the hallways, but then again, it was about 40 degrees Celsius with high humidity when I was there. Very comfortable in the rooms with the A/C on, though. Bathrooms weren't as modern-looking as the main room, but perfectly functional.

Staff was very friendly. Have to agree with other reviews commenting on small parking lot. there is additional parking around back I guess, but I like to park in front of my room.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are so glad to hear that you have seen our hotel going through all of the improvements that we have made! We are currently upgrading our carpets, among other things, but we really do offer the most comfortable beds around, and with the big tv and Tassimo machines to improve the comfort of each stay, we strive to be your number ONE choice in Parry Sound.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you need a place to stay in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I dont really post things online but thought I would here. We stayed here and were quite pleased. When we travel we look for a restaurant near the hotel or part of the same place and it was good. Overall our stay was really comfortable. Loved the bed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are very happy that you made an exception for us and posted this review! We strive to make our guests happy and comfortable, so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and comfy bed! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are travelling to Parry Sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Extremely disappointed with our recent overnight here.

Budget motel on main street with tiny car park area infront of motel style rooms. Access through corridors - old and very dirty carpet.

+ve - king bed was comfortable

-ves - very noisy airconditioning unit, noisy neighbours, broken tap, no plug for the bath, tired and worn furniture and fittings, dirty carpets and peeling wallpaper. Towels were old and threadbare. No breakfast available - told to go down the road, no wifi.

Stayed here for one night as everywhere else was booked up. Would not recommend or stay here again. Avoid unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Firstly I want to thank you for your review, We always want to see how our guests view our Hotel, while we didnt meet your expectations I can assure that we are always working to make our property better. Aside from brand new high-end beds (We were just voted as having the "Best Beds" in Parry Sound), we just went through a bunch of new renovations including carpet upgrades, Tassimo Coffee Makers, 39" Flat screens TV's and much more.

I wanted to point out that we do have a large parking area around the building and FREE WiFi throughout the entire Hotel and Restaurant.

We are proud of our little Hotel and want you to know that everything you have told us about has been addressed right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best hotel beds I have ever slept on.
Hotel was clean and comfortable.
Staff was very welcoming.
Located right downtown Parry Sound only a few minutes walk to the water.
"Don Cherry's Restaurant" is attached to the hotel and has wonderful food. Very tasty!!

Only 2 small issues:
1. The hotel front entrance was hard to find. They should put up some easy to read signs.
2. Would be better to have hotel windows that open instead of recycled air.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Beds were amazing! Room was very clean. Really good rate and convineient. Reasturaunt is attached with good quality and selection. Location of the building is in downtown Parry Sound which also made it convineient for any of the activities we had planned for that weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently stayed the night and was pleasantly surprised with the rooms.Our room had a new King bed and a new flat screen.Room had a Tassimo coffee maker + fridge.
Older building but nicely renovated rooms.Also Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager46829, Manager at Knights Inn Parry Sound, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly rennovated rooms, we look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in Parry Sound :) Thank You for choosing Knights Inn and for posting a review on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn Parry Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Parry Sound

Also Known As:
Travelodge Parry Sound
Travel Lodge Parry Sound
Parry Sound Travelodge
Parry Sound Travel Lodge
Knights Inn Parry Sound Ontario
Address: 72 James st, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A1T5, Canada (Formerly Best Rates Inns)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Parry Sound 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebranded hotel which includes upgraded rooms that have 39" flat screen LED TV's coupled with Simmons Cape Breton pillow top King and Queen sized mattresses. Tassimo coffee machines in every room, and Don Cherry's Sports Grill restaurant with interior corridor access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Knights Inn Parry Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Parry Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.