We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum on Tower Hill

The Museum on Tower Hill
17 George Street Box 337, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X4, Canada
705-746-5365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Parry Sound
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located in Tower Hill Park at the base of Parry Sound's 96-foot Look-Out tower overlooking Beautiful Georgian Bay. The Museum features a changing calendar of exhibits in three galleries. Exhibits feature an extensive collection of local artifacts connected to the history of the Parry Sound District. Themes include Natural and Cultural history trapping, First Nations, nautical shipping, Logging, Agriculture and Contagion. Fine arts and special exhibits are offered throughout the year in our two temporary galleries. We offer family rates and special family events throughout the year. We have plenty of picnic tables and one of the best views in town, come spend the day with us.
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Museum on Tower Hill has great displays about the early years of the Parry Sound area. It is also surrounded by flower gardens and has a tower that you can walk up and get a magnificent birds eye view of Parry Sound. It is a little off the beaten track. If you can't find it, ask any local how to get there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Museum on Tower Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The special visit at this time was light houses of Georgian Bay. The museum is open all year round and has a permanent exhibit of artifacts from the area...senarios about local industry etc.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canazei, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This museum was more than meets the eye! Took longer to go through than expected. Glad we took the time to learn a bit more about the history of Parry Sound.
PS.. the tower is taller than it looks! :$

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good little local museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A good place to spend an hour or two on a rainy day. You can learn about the local history here. Quite interesting!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice View of the Georgian Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We visited the museum and also climbed up the tower. The view from the top is really very nice and I would recommend it to everyone. There is a charge to get into the Museum but the Tower is free !!! I would say this is a must see !!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum on Tower Hill also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to The Museum on Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum on Tower Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.