We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and over-rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Island Queen Cruise

Island Queen Cruise
9 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S4, Canada
(705) 746-2311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Activities in Parry Sound
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a captain's-eye view of Georgian Bay's 30,000 Islands Biosphere Reserve aboard the 550-passenger Island Queen. We offer two and three-hour sightseeing cruises that bring passengers surprisingly up-close to the pristine beauty of Georgian Bay's remote island wilderness and the rustic charm of its grand summer cottages. Follow in the wake of early explorers as the captain steers the ship past granite shoals into narrow channels and shallow waterways exploring out-of-the-way places within the world's largest freshwater archipelago. The Island Queen is fully equipped with comfortable inside and outside seating, large viewing windows, outside observation decks, wheelchair accessible washrooms, a snack bar, a full commentary and heat for our fall colour cruises. Cruises depart daily from June 1 to mid-October each year from the town dock in Parry Sound, Ontario.
Salem, VA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Over-priced and over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nasty restroom facilities at the ticket office. Expensive boat ride with very little dialogue on what we were seeing offset somewhat by the spectacular views. Would hope that future trips include much more broadcast information about what we were seeing. The brochure had more words in it than were spoken by the guide. If you want a pleasant boat ride and not interested in learning much about the area, this is the tour for you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Passenger,
We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your cruise with us. I'm not sure where to begin but I will start with the bathroom facilities - they are not ours. The city of Parry Sound owns and maintains the public washrooms on shore and yes, they could do a better job. Our washrooms on the ship are spotless, as is the rest of the boat. We have had great feedback on our commentary over the years and were sorry to see that you didn't hear much of it. Perhaps you were on an outside deck on a windy day. Nonetheless, thank you for taking the time to review the cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lots of Rocks....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

To quote my nephew, "wow more rocks".....

yes lots of rocks and trees and of course water, but.....having lived in Ontario all my life, this was a fun and different and.....eye opening experience.

Proving once again, Ontario is a beautiful and unique slice of this globe.

Lovely fall day, amazing vista sites.

The whole experience was worth while..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear passenger,
Thanks for reviewing our cruise. You're right - Georgian Bay is an amazing part of the Canadian Shield. One thing passengers comment on all the time is how the pine trees seem to grow out of the smallest of cracks in the rocks. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This one you should try if in the area !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent boat experience, not too much talking during cruise and even the teats at the small kitchen where good as you moved about the ship.
Lots of people even a bride and groom taking pic's.
Make sure you are at the front when " Hole in the wall " comes out ?
Don and Carol

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Passenger,
Thanks for taking the time to review our cruise. Isn't Georgian Bay a special place? Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“No excuses needed to take this cruise!!Must do - Next time in Parry Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had great memories of this tour from when I was 18 ,many years ago and had forgotten how much it had impressed me then. A wedding in July brought us back to Parry Sound and walking the docks, saw the brochures and with friends visiting from Europe thought this would be great to do with them.
Not sure who enjoyed it more! Beautiful scenery, great narrative/ background information about the area. There is lots of room to wonder around, check out all levels of the ship or just stay seated .Very relaxed cruise,makes it perfect for all ages,families,cultures.
Great for the avid photographer or visual artist too. thousands of potential "paintings"
Will definitely do this again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Passenger,
Thanks so much for your review. Its always amazing how many photographers and artists choose to cruise aboard the Island Queen. We've seen countless paintings over the years that are based on a photograph taken by the artist while aboard the ship. Thanks for cruising with us and thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“See the islands of Georgian Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is one of the must-dos in Parry Sound and is very popular with locals and tourists. During the Festival of the Sound there may be excellent music on the cruise as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Passenger,
Thanks for your review. Our sunset evening cruises with the Festival of the Sound are always a highlight of the summer. The music is great, the scenery is wonderful, and the sunsets can be absolutely fantastic. Thanks again for taking time to review our cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Queen Cruise also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Island Queen Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Queen Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.