We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mid Town Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mid Town Hotel to your Saves list
Mid Town Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mid Town Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   24 Gibson Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1W8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a stay at this hotel because it was dog friendly, it was cheap and we only needed one nights stay. When we drove up it looked very sketchy and we debated not even going in, but we figured it was just for one night. How bad could it be?? I was very surprised at how clean it appeared to be! The gentleman at the front desk was VERY friendly and he even lent me a blow dryer! The breakfast was nothing to write home about but it you just need a piece of toast and a coffee to get you going then this is a nice place to stay. We didn't hear any noise from the other units at all. It is located right in the downtown area within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. If you just want a cheap place to stay and don't need much then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mono Mills, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If there were a minus rating I would rate them. I called them to check rate and they said it was $85 dollars when I checked in they charged us $135. The hotel smelled of cooking from their apartment, the children were running up and down the hallway, the bar attached kept all us up all night and breakfast consisted of fruit loops, corn flakes, and apples. The chairs in our room were old and dirty. We have never stayed in such a horrible place for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I had called and had a reservation to stay there for a few nights, thought all was good. Upon arrival from a very long and far drive when I showed up I was told he didn't have a room for me. When asked what am I to do and how are can we do something about this he said it's not his problem it's mine. Well trying to figure stuff out he kept changing his story. All would not recommend if u are coming from out of town and would like to ensure u have a room upon arrival

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just spent the weekend for a hockey tournament. Cheap price, clean enough for my liking. Bring extra's for your room. No coffee or breakfast, despite the ad. As others stated, good cheap basecamp. I don't believe a previous post that they caught lice! I call bull on that one!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Do not get room 204, as it was infestated with lice. I beleive it was only our room, though one can only hope. Luckily, my husband had caught a a live one, or else they wouldn't have compensated for our troubles. I had a long and sleepless night, as the lice kept on coming back for more. We used the compensation to buy some temporary new clothes at a nearby walmart, plus 1 for location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Okay, the low price had me scared because I stayed there before. But they've made improvements. I enjoyed the bed and the shower was strong and hot. The walls were painted and the carpet seemed new. The problems I had were your common problems. The soap and shampoo offerings were lacking. The window was cracked. There was a club attached to the building that was playing thumpy music, but it never distracted me. I was pleasantly surprised and they've improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Mother & Daughter researching our family history in Depot Harbour & in Parry Sound. We brought our dogs with us to this very reasonably priced pet friendly establishment.
The room was clean, bathroom had been totally redone, beds were excellent & pillows just the right size. We were NOT LOOKING for a place with all BELLS & WHISTLES & the MId Town Hotel filled all our criteria for this trip and YES we would stay here again as we have more research to do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mid Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid Town Hotel

Address: 24 Gibson Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mid Town Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mid Town Hotel welcomes you to the center of the downtown Parry Sound. Enjoy great comfort, customer service and a host of amenities while traveling. Whether beautiful you are staying for one night or few days to enjoy bird watching or if you are on business, a wedding, or family reunion, you will find The Mid Town Hotel to offer some of the finest lodging in Parry Sound. Lodging within walking distance to the beautiful Georgian Bay, Town Beach and Bobby Orr Hall of Fame. The Mid Town Hotel features, Renovated Guest Rooms. All rooms have Color TV, Air Conditioning, Coffee Machines, Microwave, Fridge and Wireless Internet. The hotel offers If you've forgotten reservation, we can supply you with 24 hour reservation. For business and leisure travelers alike The Midtown Hotel is Downtown Parry Sound's most affordable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mid Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid Town Hotel Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.