We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ell Mar Motel, Parry Sound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ell Mar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ell Mar Motel
Oastler Park Drive R.R. # 2, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Ell Mar Motel, Parry Sound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived quite late in the evening and stopped at this motel simply because it was on the way... and boy, were we surprised! The rooms are large, decorated in a gorgeously vintage way, and had a fridge and microwave. The backyard was large with a deck and a river rushing past, which gave you a feeling that you were in a cabin in the woods. There was even a BBQ available for guest usage. The owners are delightfully nice and down to earth. Although the price we paid for one night is roughly equal to what we would have paid to stay in an average chain hotel, this place has personality and spirit that those hotel chains lack. The next time we are in Parry Sound, we would definitely stay at this motel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Some of the rooms here are in very bad condition. We had to be moved because the room had not been cleaned properly and the bathroom door would not close. The next room looked o.k. but felt dirty. I got out the extra pillow from the drawer and there was a stain on it. Too many details are overlooked at this one. A nice babbling brook in the back was the only nice thing about it. We had a very hard time getting the old Air Conditioner to work.

Room Tip: Go and look at the room before you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The motel is nicely decorated even if you're are not going to stay there I would recommend to drop by just to take a few pictures. Other that that rooms are clean, not expensive, owners are very nice people. make you feel at home. I would stay there again if I need a place to stay in that area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Ell Mar is unique. Alot of personal touch has gone into the cute, quaintness of this motel. Very clean and comfortable with your own personal BBQ, if you wish to use it. All rooms are non-smoking but you have an ashtray and chairs just outside your door, if you happen to be a smoker. Owners are very friendly, personable people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ell Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ell Mar Motel

Also Known As:
Ell Mar Motel Parry Sound, Ontario
Address: Oastler Park Drive R.R. # 2, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Parry Sound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ell Mar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ell Mar Motel to your Saves list