We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like small town "Hospitality"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   959 Pembroke St. E., Pembroke, Ontario K8A 3M3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Pembroke
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nothing like small town "Hospitality"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2012, and I must say I am so glad we did.
We had a family emergency that brought us to Pembroke and we were arriving late at the hotel and I must say from the moment we arrived till we left the staff could not have been more accommodating if it was a 5star resort..actually the customer service and care we received was better that some 5star resorts we have stayed at.
The room was very nice, spotless, beds were very comfortable, flat screen satellite television and wireless access. Our room was on the first floor so unloading and loading are car was great as we were parked right outside our room and had double glass doors.
Because of the reasons for us being there the have what is called a "Compassionate Rate" so we got the room for a great price and even though they were booked up because of a hockey tournament in town when we needed to stay an extra night there was no issue and they even arranged for us not to have to change rooms.

Soooo....if you ever need to stay in Pembroke I would highly recommend this hotel it is pretty centrally located and the they have a very nice downtown area..oh and if you like pita's there is this little pita joint called the Pita Shack I highly recommend it they have the best BLT pitas in the world ...

Comfort Inn (CN289)

959 Pembroke St. E., Pembroke, ON, CA, K8A 3M3

Phone: [--]
Fax: [--]

Map/ Directions

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your posting. Yes we do offer compassion rates for medical emergencies, visitation of the sick or elderly and funerals. Occasions such as these can be unsettling and our team is very sensitive to our guest’s needs. We also appreciate all your compliments on our hotel. Our housekeeping team is excellent. We are very proud to offer our rooms to guests with full assurance they will be fully satisfied with the cleanliness. We hope you’ll be back in the summer for a happier occasion and able to enjoy our many gardens and outdoor facilities. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
21
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Marilyn has a team of dedicated employees that work very hard to make you happy and to enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Your comments are sincerely appreciated. We do have a terrific team who are guest focused. Thank you for your loyalty and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I could not believe the smell of the room we got. It was unbreathable, I do think it damaged my health. The girl at the desk could not "find" another room--even though the room we got was not the one we reserved online. I noticed some of the rooms were renovated but the one we got was tiny and stale. Unhealthy and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for making us aware of this situation. Our cleaning supplies are from a very reputable commercial company. Usually the comment is how fresh and clean our rooms smell so we are surprised by your comment. We will definately review this with our Quality Assurance Manager to ensure our rooms continue to remain fresh smelling. Thank you again for taking the time to make us aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

No Breakfast, slow internet, and no elevator. My wife and I decided to stay at another hotel once we realized we were staying in a pet friendly room which smelled and were relocated to the second floor where we found ourselves between two hockey teams that were completely out of control in my opinion. We called the front desk and nothing was done about the noise . We changed hotels and were completely blown away when we received a better hotel at the same price with many more amenities and was 100% non-smoking.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We are deeply sorry that your stay with us was a disappointment. It is true that we can not offer breakfast on site but we do offer a $3 breakfast coupon at two local restaurants. Apparently you were not offered this when you checked in. We have upgraded our WIFI we are happy to say. It is that we do not have an elevator. This is why we discount our second level rooms by $10 since it is an issue that cannot be fixed. During the month of November Pembroke hosts the Silver Stick Tournament and we are fortunate enough to be able to serve some of the teams. We do have security on from 6 pm to 2 am and he quickly tends to evening noise that is out of control so I am sincerely surprised to hear you comment that the issue was not attended to immediately. It is true that during the daytime we do not have security and maybe this is something we can look at next year. Yes, we are pet friendly in some rooms. We take exxtra measure to clean a pet friendly room which includes shampooing the rug and washing the comforter. Yes, we do offer a limited number of smoking rooms in an isolated corridor in our hotel to ensure we can accommodate individual needs. They may affect the satisfaction of some of our guests and we do sincerely apologize. We are glad you were able to find accommodation that suited you better but we would like to have another opportunity to serve you if you are in our area again. We take your comments very seriously and will review them at our monthly team meeting. Thank you for letting us know that you were disappointed. It is only through guest comments that we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Suite Room
In August my husband and I were on our back from an out east coast trip, and we stopped in Pembroke for a rest before heading home to Kirkland Lake. Comfort Inn's are kinda hit and miss, but this hotel was beautiful! We have stayed in several rated hotels and honestly, this hotel is right up there in ratings. Beautiful decor, spot clean!! and staff were so eager to help and assist. The older gentleman that checked us in was so welcoming and friendly and you can tell he takes great pride to ensure his guests are comfortable and ensuring his hotel is in order. The hotel has a few little garden areas and a little dog walking area as well as a children's play area. This hotel is managed with detail, comfort and over and above with cleanliness!!!
If in that area and need a place to stay-stay here, you will not be disappointed
Kirkland Lake, ON

Room Tip: This hotel is in the same line as the Ascend Collection with out a restaurant. Beautiful suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments. Over the years we have tried to add as many amenities and comforts as we can and it so rewarding for the team to hear their work has been valued. Our beautiful back yard with the river view, mini putt, BBQ and sundeck is used as much by our local community as our guests. We do love our gardens. We spend a great deal of time on them and they are beautiful thanks to our great team. We thank you for taking the time to tell us we are doing a good job. We will be delighted to review your comments at our monthly team meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here for two nights.  We found the rooms to be very clean with comfortable beds.  The hotel provides a refrigerator and a microwave.  The bathroom is a good size with a powerful shower.  The hotel is easy to find being on a main road on the east side of Pembroke.  Many rooms have a river view.  There was little noise from the road in the room we had, but it was the furthest room from the road. Car parking was excellent.
 
The hotel is well located for access to restaurants and diners.  It is also easy to access the eastern side of Algonquin park from Pembroke.

Room Tip: The hotel is "L" shaped. Chose a room on the part of the "L" furthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to make us aware of their experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again if you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

I have to admit it was the only downside to what seems like a nice hotel BUT our room was literally crawling with some sort of beetle. The first night there were a handful and we killed them. Day 2 When we returned back at the hotel there had to be 3-4dozen in our room. They were everywhere. I asked the front desk to move our room. Apparently the bugs only came in in the rooms at the front? We did get another room on the second floor at the back and an apology. From what I understand this is a seasonal thing, but really the hotel should have been all over this. All of this said I wouldn't completely write the place off. The rooms were large enough and comfortable. I would honestly say I would consider staying here again if it wasn't this time of year or they could manage the beetle problem. It has got to be a city wide issue so there must be a remedy

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We sincerely apologize. Two years ago we planted some Manitoba Maples and apparently they have to be sprayed yearly to prevent Manitoba Beetles (very small and harmless) from populating the trees. In the fall they seek warmth and are attracted to the glass patio doors. As people enter and leave through the patio doors, the beetles gain entrance or seep through cracks. Now that we are aware of the cause of these little critters we will certainly make sure they are not provided with free accommodation, or the ability to bunk with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 959 Pembroke St. E., Pembroke, Ontario K8A 3M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ottawa Valley's Most Awarded Hotel offers each guest personalized service to meet your particular travelling needs. The only hotel overlooking the Ottawa River in Pembroke, The Pembroke Comfort Inn offers a large back yard for you to relax in. Putt 9 holes, BBQ your dinner or just lounge on our sundeck and enjoy the sun. Inside we offer 24 hr hot beverage. Our rooms have been awarded as 'above average' for the level of cleanliness and attention to detail. Designed to suit individual needs, the Pembroke Comfort Inn offers Riverview, Business, Luxurious King Rooms,as well as standard rooms. A limited number of smoking rooms are available. Competitively priced, the Pembroke Comfort Inn offers more for less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Pembroke
Comfort Inn Pembroke, Ontario
Pembroke Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.