We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Gables Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pembroke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Gables Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Grey Gables Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
353 Mackay Street, Pembroke, Ontario K8A 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pembroke B&B and Inns
Hermantown, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed one night on our trip out east again. Stayed in the Library room. Very nice & comfortable room. Had refrig, microwave, tub & shower, coffee maker, tv. We enjoyed sitting outside on the front patio that evening. Breakfast was excellent and relaxing. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Unfortunately 4 of our family stayed here to attend a funeral. I believe that all of the units have more than one room. I would have preferred to have not been on the third floor because of personal physical limitations and an octogenarian in our party. We had what was really a 2 bedroom fully furnished apartment! This was perfect for our family as it allowed us to spend time together. The rooms on the lower floors were fancier and we probably stayed in what would have been the servants area but is was wonderful! The bathroom had an original claw foot tub with shower and a small chandelier light fixture. These problems not withstanding, we really enjoyed the décor, architecture and the lovely couple who runs the B&B. The breakfasts were excellent!!
If I visit Pembroke again, I will definitely stay at Grey Gables! I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I are regular clients for the past 2 yrs, and we think the experience has been excellent in every way. This is a gorgeous mansion, beautifully and tastefully decorated. We have come to know the owners and feel like it's our second home. There is no better place to stay in Pembroke. Breakfast is always amazing. The review from "Canada Day" is shocking in every way: first it's written by a rude person, and someone I'm glad I don't know, and secondly, even if your experience was not the best, there are more appropriate words to use, to get your point across. How shameful to write something like that!

My only criticism is that you should double check your booking, as we have had a few misunderstandings in this regard over the years.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Grey Gables Manor B&B and it was the most beautiful bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. The decor is beautiful, the owners are so friendly and accommodating they make you feel like family. We will definitely be going back. I. Give this place an A++

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

An overdue review that I wanted to post, as I travelled here last summer, but it is one that deserves my full attention, because as a foreign service officer who has travelled dozens of cities in dozens of countries, this B&B was a unique experience, to say the least. Grey Gables is an old mansion that has been converted into a B&B. The hosts were kind and accommodating for an early check-in and late check out. I stayed in the library room and will definitely be back. It seemed more like a five-star boutique hotel than a B&B. Art & Shirley Nugent, the proprietors, strike the perfect balance between guest attention and privacy. Very charming couple with impeccable taste. Breakfast was delicious, although more plentiful than I am used to for breakfast. Great coffee. Here's the kicker, though: when I wanted to extend my stay but they were fully booked, I was able to rent their cottage in nearby Round Lake. If I thought that the furnishings and decor at Grey Gables were impeccable, their cozy & elegant cottage blew me away. To put things in perspective financially, 3 nights at this first class establishment cost me lest than 3 nights at a crummy Holiday Inn in Ottawa! I think they could easily raise their room rates, but I'm not complaining...Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try the Library Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was immediately charmed by the building, its history and hosts. The carved walls and ceilings as you enter and throughout are impressive. My partner and I stayed in the Library over the weekend, and while I am not the biggest fan of sleigh beds, I slept wonderfully. Breakfast was well considered and delicious.

Room Tip: The Library is spacious and is the only room on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is one of those B&Bs that was sold as is to the current owner. It was purchased about ten years ago by a interior designer from Ottawa who renovated it and decorated it and created what is left of the ambience and décor. Unfortunately it was sold to a local from Pembroke who doesn't have the class or sophistication to make it as good as it once was. She added quite a few tacky décor items that were not there with the more sophisticated and much more creative and friendly previous owner. So, I can assure you that what you see of a beautiful reno was not chosen by "Shirley." A B&B is sometimes only as good as the host(ess) and this one ruins the house. If you like small minded, fussy, cheap and small town hostess, you will love this place. I was there alone along with a gay couple who she clearly did not feel comfortable around! The rooms are perfectly fine and given the lack of selection in Pembroke, you cannot go wrong staying here. One often wonders why certain people decide to run a B&B. However, I have discovered small towns often have small town minded people running B&Bs. Too bad because the people of Pembroke are down to earth and friendly and the area is gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Gables Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 353 Mackay Street, Pembroke, Ontario K8A 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pembroke
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Inn Bed And Breakfast Pembroke, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Gables Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.