We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Astor's Bar & Grill

Jack Astor's Bar & Grill
155 York Blvd # 2, Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
+1 905-771-9191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 362 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fun night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a staple restaurant we turn to when we want some good American food. The food is always tasty and well presented and food is priced appropriately. Servers are always friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is fun and there is lots to look at within the restaurant as it is relatively newer than some Jack Astor's. You won't be disappointed with this restaurant. Try the mini brownie at the end of the meal. I would go just for this dessert that is priced right and just the perfect size at the end of a meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food! Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our entire team came here after a hockey game and we had super service which is not always the case with a large group. We were all fed at the same time and in a reasonable time. They did a super job and the food was good...large variety for all tastes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“good and fair price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's a great place to eat where service is great. It appears that there is no bread to serve for free, but that's alright. overall, no compliant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Steak Fajita during the busy lunch hour (if you can find parking)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten here a number of times. From my experience the place is always busy, which is a good sign and speaks to the food quality. On this particular occasion it was especially busy given a number of companies have Christmas lunch gatherings there.

We showed up at 12:10 (huge mistake), was able to find seating but had to park near the now defunct Greek restaurant further out in this Richmond Hill restaurant ghetto :o)

I ordered a steak fajita with guacamole (an extra) that I'd order again without hesitation. My colleagues meal came about 8 minutes ahead of mine (which was a touch awkward) but we both enjoyed our meals (he had 2 apps served as lunch, I think it was this request that threw the server and kitchen off). He had calamari and a specialty salad and liked both of them.

The place was bustling , managed to find us seating, served us good food (a little out of synch) and provided us with our bill promptly when our meal was completed. All in all, a pretty good experience !!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Family with the Kids Loved this Place, but Not My Cup of Tea!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

One good thing about this place, the plaza got 10's restaurants shared a huge parking lot. Eventually, you would find a parking spot somewhere. Got a reservation at 7 PM on Saturday evening, the place was super busy. Still needed to wait 10-15 minutes for our table. The service was OK, the food was over priced. Family with the kids loved to go there, the restaurant used the paper as table cloth. Kids loved to draw on it. We ordered chicken and salmon, both dishes got too much Asian Fusion factor. It was not my cup of tea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Astor's Bar & Grill also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Jack Astor's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Astor's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.