We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection and Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe En Passant

Cafe En Passant
10133 Yonge St # A, Richmond Hill, Ontario L4C 1T5, Canada
(905) 883-0575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 361 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great selection and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

A nice change from the typical chain restaurants that have flooded Richmond Hill. Good selection of meat fish and vegetarian options. Many of the items have multiple sauce options, so there is something for everyone. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Serving staff was very friendly and had a strong knowledge of the menu items and specials. Overall we had a great evening.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
“Very Nice Meal, Worth the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Yup, my hubby and I came here for a special night away from the kids after work. Very relaxing place with subtle french music playing in the background. We went during the week, so it wasn't that busy and they did have a little patio out front but it was too hot that night. We had deep fried mussels and the sauce was most yummy. Wine bottle selection was fairly decent and not badly priced. Next up was potato/leek soup which was also yummy and then our schnitzel came. Very generous portion but kind of seemed out of place on a plate with just a few potatoes and vegetables. The server told us that we could have substituted pasta instead - which I will definitely do when we go back. Service was very pleasant, no room for dessert but will definitely go back. This is such a nice alternative to those big franchise places - it felt small town. Nice Job!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My partner and I were here for dinner about 6 weeks ago. We had the groupon deal and from the moment we made the reservation to our welcome at the door, we were made aware of the gratuity and tax breakdown before we had the bill. The young man serving us was most welcoming and sincere in explaining the breakdown. We have used Groupon in other restaurants and we know that this common practice so that the waitstaff isn't screwed on those cheap individuals that would only pay tip based on what they paid groupon, NOT the actual value of the food. We had the steak, which was cooked tp perfection. The service was outstanding and the waiter made us feel like we were at home with his conversation and the amount of tables he was serving. He seemed to give everybody there the same great attention. It looked as though the owner was not really helping but to his credit he was conversing with many of the patrons and asking where we were from and other polite conversation. The decor inside needs to be updated - looks a bit dingy but otherwise fine. Quite a few people showed up without reservations which seemed to strain the staff and kitchen, so my only advise is to make reservations and enjoy the experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Friday night, there was only one waiter in the house, we waited for 15mins, not even a glass of water being serviced, but they only got 4 tables of customer.
After 25mins, finally the owner came by to take the orders, the food was below average, portion was good but not the taste.
When we got the bill, there were $30 add on top as tips, never seen this in a Restaurant before. Over 25%??
Never go back again, anyone want to try this Restaurant better think twice,
with this price, you can get something a lot better!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I took my family there for dinner and we all agreed that we would not return.
From serving a warm martini to over cooked and dry pasta, our entire dinning experience was terrible. The owner tried his best to correct their numerous mistakes but not enough to waste our time and money. I don't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe En Passant also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
 
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Cafe En Passant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe En Passant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.