We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing craft beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Elephant Craft Brew House

Blue Elephant Craft Brew House
96 Norfolk St S, Simcoe, Ontario N3Y 2W2, Canada
+1 519-428-2886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 58 Restaurants in Simcoe
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Brew Pub, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Waterloo, Ontario
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing craft beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stopped in here to watch a World Cup game and to try their range of craft beers. In general, I found them to be thin bodied and missing the expected flavour profile for a given beer style. They seem to be striving a bit too much for novelty and local ingredients while failing to pay enough attention to the basics of producing good beer. Even the coffee porter, available in cans in the store, normally one of my favourite styles, was disappointing. I didn't eat here, but they seemed to be doing a good food business. The atmosphere was friendly. Check out the beer if you are in town anyway (your tastes may be completely different from mine) but I wouldn't recommend a special trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Come for the Thai stay for the brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent Thai food and very good pub grub. Good verity of draft beers and there own brew is excellent. Staff is friendly and service is prompt. Great little patio to sit on during those nice hot summer evenings.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Elephant Craft Brew House, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thanks for your review!
We are pleased to hear that you like our beer,
we hope you stop by again soon to try some of our newest brews, and enjoy the last of the patio weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Oasis after a long hot day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first visit to the Blue Elephant even though we've been through Simcoe many times before. We were tired and hungry and it was a Friday night. The place was hopping and we wanted to sit on the patio - which looked full, but the excellent owner/manager checked for us and it was a short wait at the bar (just enough time to order one of their micro brews) before we were sitting comfortably outside perusing the extensive menu. Locally sourced and creatively combined I opted for the wings and a caesar salad, which were excellent. My husband whose eyes can be bigger than the proverbial stomach added a burger to his wing order! He loved the burger and the wings and what he didn't eat came home with us and the kids enjoyed them the next day :) We'll definitely go back to sample more of their menu and try the other brews. I thought the pilsener was very good. The brown ale has bite but not too much. Thanks for a great end to a long day Blue Elephant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blue Elephant Simcoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Visit and eat at this restaurant on a regular basis. Mainly go for the chicken wings, but they also have a full range of great dishes. They have a Thai meal in a bowl that is really good also. Theres an outdoor patio where you can eat and drink which is really nice with the weather. Service is nice and friendly. There is also a brewery on site that they make their own beer, which is kind of cool. Its a relaxing atmosphere with fast and friendly service, with good food, hard combination to beat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Blue has made me blue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my go to pub in Simcoe. No complaints with the food and service but they recently stopped serving my favourite beer on tap, Rickard's Red, along with others! The plan is to promote their micro brewery. Laudable but frankly, the home brews are not good. Hopefully, they will relent and bring back the old standby drafts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant Craft Brew House also viewed

Simcoe, Norfolk County
 

Been to Blue Elephant Craft Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Elephant Craft Brew House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.