We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 The Queensway E., Simcoe, Ontario N3Y 4M5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Simcoe
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was the third hotel we stayed at, travelling round Ontario as part of a three week ancestor-hunting tour. We chose Simcoe because that seemed to be the nearest big place to Port Dover, where the ancestors had lived. This hotel was a huge let down after the two others we had just stayed in. It was more expensive and with fewer facilities. The room was tiny, triangular in shape, with a queen bed, a two-seater settee and a small wardrobe. It was very dark; eventually we got the broken, poor quality blind up to reveal a full grown tree outside the window. It gave some privacy but there was no light.
The breakfast room was the tiniest ever. It had four very small tables and eight chairs. There was no room to move whatsoever and people were queuing out of the door. Comfort Inn – it should be called Discomfort Inn.
The wifi signal was poor.
There were eating places within walking distance. We ate at Harvey’s, Swiss Chalet and Joey’s seafood restaurant – the latter I can heartily recommend.
If I ever come to Port Dover again, I will not be staying at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
10
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here the night of August 17th for our son to attend a wedding in the area. We were mot disappointed with our accomodations. This place had a block set of rooms for wedding guests, and there were many staying here. If ever in the area again we know where to stay. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. They provided information whenever we asked, as we were new to the area. I only wish we had more time to see what the area has to offer. I am sure it is plenty. The only one item I can think of... was that of the breakfast area, not all that big, especially if there is a crowd staying here as was the case. This is a small complaint. Was able to make what I wanted and take back to the room, so not a biggie... Many thanks again for the wonderful stay. Lorne, Joyce and Kyle

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simcoe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the definition of mediocre. Theres nothing spectacular about the hotel. they offer continental breakfast but in order to eat it you must be an early riser. they have decent rooms with abit of outdated décor . This hotel has no pool, or anything unique setting it apart from other hotels in the area . The service is moderate, it doesn't leave you with the impression "I want to stay here again " the rooms are clean to an extent but there was a boot print left on my comforter.. This leads me to believe they hotel isn't as sanitary as it is made out to be, if you are to stay at this hotel, be sure to check to see if your blankets are what you consider clean or ask for a new one just to be sure your not cozying up to a blanket that hasn't been changed in a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a tournament. Check in process was smooth. We paid $100 for 1 room. This motel did not have a pool, the rooms had ants, the rooms smelled, and the ice machine barely worked. Some people complained of ants in their rooms.
There was a continental breakfast included, and the variety was ok (Bread, Bagels, Cereal, Waffle, etc.).
There is a BBQ area in the back, which was pretty good.
All in all, I would only stay here again, if there were no other motels, and if they rates were cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had to stay here for work..had no choice work was paying for it. I would have left after the first couple of days. First the sheets had stains on them....then they weren't changed for the first 3 days we were there even though we put the sign up asking to have the linens changed only after we went to the front desk to complain.did they get changed. The construction worker beside us slammed his door at hours and constantly...complained about that ...nothing was done. We were told to talk to management. Our bathroom wasn't cleaned very well there was still hair in the bathtub from when I had a shower and there was hair on our toilet seat that did not belong to either myself or my co-worker, That was just the first week. Went home for the weekend and when we came back we were given a different room.This week..... I opened a drawer in the dresser and found some food in it. Obviously the dressers are not checked in between guests. we came back to our room after work and found a dirty sock on the floor that did not belong to me or my co-worker, we took it to the front desk and they told us it was probably from when housekeeping cleaned under the bed. They could not have found it under the bed because the bed is on a pedestal. I called for room service for 6:30am and even went to the desk when they told me they hd something for the issue with the dirty sock...the woman at the desk asked again about the time for the wake up call and was again told 6:30am. The next morning we were given a wake up call at 6am. My 18 year old nephew came to pick us up for dinner and i asked him to wait in the lobby while we changed from our work clothes. He made a comment about the dust in the lobby and he was asked to leave. I found the staff very unfriendly. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone including my worst enemy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
First I would like to thank you for using TripAdvisor. It is guest feedback that encourages us to improve in areas that did not meet and exceed expectations.

It is very disappointing to read about the incidents that took place during your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback about our attention to detail from our front desk and housekeeping staff and please know we have been using this example to work with our staff on retraining on these points for all of our guests.

We are very sorry that our attempts to resolve your problems fell short of your expectations. We set very high standards for our front desk and housekeeping departments and are consistently performing quality checks in our rooms and through guest feedback. We would like to assure all guests that cleanliness and service is a priority at our hotel.

A warm welcome at all times by the Front Office team and courteous, helpful service is indeed the basis of guests and visitors feeling valued and I am very concerned that a family visitor felt otherwise. I was at the front office when your nephew was in our lobby and I am uncertain as to what happened during his visit. Service at our hotel is very important to us. We want our guests and visitors to enjoy being at the Simcoe Comfort Inn, so your report of being asked to leave the hotel is a very serious concern for me and I would encourage you to please contact me directly to discuss further.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We would hope that the many positive reviews posted on TripAdvisor would be a testament to our commitment to providing excellent service and we do regret that you felt that this was not a priority during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I found the front desk staff here to always be helpful, the problems with the presentation of this hotel have nothing to do with them.

That being said, the rooms are in desperate need of updating! Bubbled and peeling wallpaper, burn marks on bathroom counters, stains on some of the carpets and bedding, occasional issues with broken appliances, and sadly several instances of garbage/incomplete cleaning between guests.

The location of this hotel makes it more convenient for guests who would like to walk around Simcoe but the comfort of the stay is greatly diminished by the condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for honest review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive input you gave toward the front desk staff. We do strive to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests.

It sounds as if you may have stayed in one of the few rooms which have not received a full update yet. There are still a few that need the carpets and love seats replaced. Mostly, however, that has been done throughout the rest of the hotel. Had we known the room was less than satisfactory, and were we able, we would have given you a better one, possiby even our Asian themed room or the Pink room which was designed for the CIBC Run For The Cure (proceeds going to the cause).

We hope your disappointment in that room does not hamper your enthusiasm about the area in and around Simcoe. In more fair weather there is always something going on here! We do hope you will return to enjoy the many activities, festivals, local wines, produce, and treats such as popcorn, peanuts, maple syrup, and much much more all in this little corner of the world called Norfolk County!

We will certainly make sure you are happy with your accommodation before we check you in! Please do return! You will be glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pleasant surprise. Open kitchen, snacks, great DIY breakfast, awsome coffee, great staff and service. Went out of their way to show us to a nice local restaurant (AMIGOS). Loved the atmosphere, a bit 1980's look with psychadelic patterns everywhere.

No problems with forms of payment. Only one issue with the TV not working, but not important enough to make a complaint about anyways because we were doing much more elsewhere. We are discriminate in where we sleep, and the sheets were clean, carpet and washroom clean, evn had the tops of the tables just wiped down. Very clean clean place!

Room Tip: Worth it to stay here first, comparable to a higher priced hotel. Hydro company stays there a lot fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that your stay here was pleasant. We work hard to make that so and it is encouraging when folks like you have a positive experience here. This is what makes it all worthwhile!

As for the TV, every remote control and system works differently from what one might be used to at home. Ninetynine percent of the time this is the case here. When you are here again and if you have trouble, we can check to make sure it's not some bigger issue. If it is, we will do what we can to remedy that too.

Were you able to take in the Simcoe Panarama River of Lights while you were here? The lights will be on every night until January 6th. It is something to see! There is a welcome center as well where you can get treats and gifts items unique to our area.

Again, thanks and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 85 The Queensway E., Simcoe, Ontario N3Y 4M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Simcoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Simcoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy-to- access, central location with clean, comfortable rooms & large back yard with BBQ. We deliver all the amenities you're looking for with the comfort you deserve..Free Sunshine Breakfast, in-room wireless, newspaper, local calls, coffee & tea, reward plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Canada, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simcoe Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Simcoe, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.