We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Europe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of my place

my place
2 Main W, Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
613-284-4696
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Smiths Falls
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Eastern European, Canadian
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Carleton Place, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little taste of Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a suprise to find this treasure in such an out of the way place. They have a wonderful selection of European dishes , the sauerkraut is properly cooked and the sausages are a taste of heaven. The schnitzels fill the plate and the cost is bare minimal. I especially recommend the soups, which are all home made.
We will definately make the trip again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A real taste of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another surprise, is time in rural Ontario. This restaurant offers European, essentially Eastern European style, cuisine: lovely meats, potato dumplings, sauerkraut etc. It also an impressive, calorie rich, European deserts. I had a modest meal of meat loaf, sauerkraut, carrots, and potato dumplings. It was cheap and tasty. Service was very good. Finished woth a large pot of tea and passed (reluctantly) on the desserts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tried this place about two months prior and have now been back three times, food is fresh hot and tasty. I have no complaints and would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal - will make the trip again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a restaurant that you will want to return to - just to try all the different dishes and desserts. I was recently here with 3 friends and all of us were impressed. The soups were amazing and only $3.95 a bowl. The owner even brought us some of his homemade cold cucumber soup to try - wonderful!! The meals are large and reasonably prices. I had the Bohemian Schnitzel for $13.95. It was fantastic. Unfortunately we were all stuffed and had no room for dessert. Can't wait to visit again, just to have soup and dessert! Wonderful place. You will not be disappointed - ever!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Proprietor, Jozef, immigrated from Prague in the late 1960's and provides customers with really excellent cuisine that is distinctly eastern European. Is worth going out of your way because you won't find his treats in many other places in Canada. Portions are large, so consider dividing a main course so you can keep room for one of the scrumptious desserts.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed my place also viewed

Smiths Falls, Ontario
Smiths Falls, Ontario
 

Been to my place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage my place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.