We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Restaurant

Tommy's Restaurant
68 Front St, Trenton, Quinte West, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 59 restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Enjoyed our meal and the service. We enjoyed some authentic souvlaki with very good tzatziki. Portion sizes and alad was good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    3
    13
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I haven't been to Tommy's Restaurant in awhile but when I was there last the food was good and the service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had a steak but I do not believe they know the difference between well done and medium raw my was a little to well done
for what I asked but it was good.
Nice atmosphere and old fashioned decor.An antique shop that
ha,sells food.. We were happy with the food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've gone to Tommys twice in the last 3 years and both times we said "we'll never go there again" when we got back in the car.

The service was so-so and the food was even worse. I don't like the thought of describing the food because it will bring back terrible memories. On the most recent visit I had the fish and chips and they arrived piping hot, but were still somehow under-cooked. The tartar sauce was homemade and had a weird flavour to it. Like the mayonaise in the kitchen was too old to serve on its own and they didn't want to throw it out, so they made tartar sauce with it. The fries I received with the fish and chips were old and stone cold.

I ordered a Coke and was served a diet Coke. Fine. I can live with a diet Coke. When the time arrived for a refill I asked her to ensure it wasn't a diet Coke. Well, the waitress took great offense to be accused of doing something wrong. She swore up and down she didn't give me a diet Coke. My refill? Another diet Coke. *facepalm*

On the good side, it is a reasonably priced joint judging solely by what I seen on the menu, and it is nicely decorated and clean, albeit a little tacky in areas.

As for atmosphere, it is a barren wasteland in there. The only other diners I've seen in there was a very elderly couple who appeared to have no idea where they were or what they were doing.

Word has gotten out. Don't go to Tommy's. You'll be sorry.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ick”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place is supposed to be a Greek restaurant, although their menu if fairly large and has much more than Greek food on it. I figured that if anything was to be good it would be the greek food, so I ordered the gyro and my friend had the chicken souvlaki. The dishes came with Greek potatoes, which I disliked the flavor of. They also came with an nontraditional "Greek" salad that was filled with lettuce and a weird pink dressing. It tasted o.k though.
They Gyro had a weird flavor to it, but the pita was good.
I had expected much more, considering it's supposed to be a Greek restaurant.
As for the service... the waitress didn't even know what was on the menu. She asked us to point our selections out so she could read them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.