We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMM!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry In A Hurry

Curry In A Hurry
170 University West, Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3E9, Canada
(519) 888-0126
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 298 restaurants in Waterloo
Restaurant details
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“YUMMM!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love Curry in a Hurry!
We go farily often and have never had a bad experience, unless getting too much food is a bad experience :)
The Aloo Gobi is delicious.
Can be spiced up how you like it, mild, medium or hot.
Nice and clean.
Always lots of take outs too but we always eat in!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

26% Recommend
    3
    3
    6
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Not authentic or flavourful, not fast, and not worth the money. I was VERY disappointed and could have cooked it better at home myself. Would not go back there, especially in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Samosas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a quick snack one day and walked by curry in a hurry. I saw that they had samosas so I walked in.

The restaurant was empty except for one man eating by himself. All the other tables were "reserved" but I didn't see anyone walk in.

I ordered the samosa ($2.25 I think) expecting to get a few but I was then asked how many I wanted. Without thinking I said four and it came out to $10 something.

I had to wait fifteen minutes for it, and when she went in the kitchen - I was expecting her to tell their chef/cook the order, but all I heard was the microwave!!

I ate these at home and they were horrible ! I guess I will go elsewhere for samosas.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buy a curry from the supermarket, it's the same but cheaper!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Awful take away experience!

We paid 70 bucks for 3 butter chicken dishes, a samosa, 4 popadoms, rice and vegetable pakora. If the meal was outstanding this may be acceptable, sadly it wasn't.

Having bought pataks products several times before from my local supermarket, I am very aware of the taste. This is exactly what they use, they must buy bulk quantities and try to pass it off as their own. the only difference is they use very low quality chicken (if it could even be called "chicken"). I think the samosa may have been homemade, however, it was clearly frozen at some point.

This is the worst curry I have ever had, and probably one of the most expensive. I'm originally from Glasgow, which surprisingly enough has some of the best Indian restaurants around, and they don't even charge the extortionate prices that this dump does.

Save yourself the money and avoid.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not at all Indian Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Service is good. But food is so bad, Not Indian at all. The guys does not know what curry means.. Everything is great but food is awful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry In A Hurry also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Curry In A Hurry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry In A Hurry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.