We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rushes Restaurant

Rushes Restaurant
475 King Street, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada
(519) 884-0220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 304 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
new hamburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Family Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have been going to brunch on Sundays at the Rushes restaurant for over 20 years. During that time I have tried many other brunches, some buffet, some a la carte. My family and I keep returning to the Rushes because it is the best. They have a wide variety of well prepared items on the buffet every Sunday. Some of them are mainstays and have been on the menu for many years, such as the roast beef. My children have grown up eating there and I am convinced that the frequent brunches there contributed to their love of good food and varied palate. Most recently we had a brunch with extended family. I asked the server about gluten in the dessert as I am allergic. She brought me a gluten free dessert since the ones on the buffet were not suitable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    3
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Buffet Brunch ... a family treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

At least twice a year, our family meets for Sunday Brunch at Rushes. Our last visit was very typical and quite good. My meals start and end the same delicious way each visit: the made-to-order omelet is at the beginning, and the bread pudding is at the end. In between does depend on what selection tempts my tastebuds: salads and fresh fruits, breads and cheeses, hot servings of several meats and vegetables. Rushes provides a relaxing atmosphere, pleasant service and very good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Foodie experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Interesting menu items with great seasonings/flavors, tried the lamb with chipotle sauce, also noted they had boar on menu. Companion had tenderloin beef, all meats local to the Ontario region Choose local lager beer named after the area-Waterloo, very good as well. Tried breakfast buffet the next day, good selection of cold cuts, cheeses, fruits and other standard fare

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very pleasant eatery for a buffet breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

One of the best breakfast buffets I've had at a hotel. The scrambled eggs were just right even when I took the end of the batch in the casserole. The fresh fruit (honeydew, cantaloupe, pineapple, strawberries, grapes, etc.) was delicious and very welcome. The coffee and orange juice were right on.

The decor is quite pleasant and the service was great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brunch was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Custom omelet cooked perfectly went well with the delicious salmon! The coffee was smooth, service even smoother. And the bread pudding? To die for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rushes Restaurant also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Rushes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.