We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Barn Restaurant

Cedar Barn Restaurant
1217 Lobsinger Line, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 4G8, Canada
(519) 664-2569
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 305 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
“Great Food & Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent place for a casual meal, especially breakfast. Very economical and fast service. It also has a quaint atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New Owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The new owners are trying to tourist it up with new paint ,signage and menu. The prices have gone up substantially and the food has deteriorated. The new menu is tailored to the Asian community with the pork hock that they all love.
I have had breakfast there steadily two or three times a month for years, Ive stopped going due to the much higher prices($12:75 for a western sandwich and frozen fries) and dramatically poorer quality. There used to be a line of feed and cattle trucks along the road in the morning ,now the place is empty. It's all so sad to see what happened to the Bluemoon And the Heidelburg House happen here

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food quickly served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Friendly staff take your order and deliver the food as ordered, quickly. Good prices, too. What more could you want for breakfast?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira
1 review
“Best liver and onions in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My favorite food is love liver and onions, I have tried this on many places and tonight I stop at the Cedar barn for first time, dinner was amazing! I got the best liver and onions in town.

I will definitely come back to the barn again, I heard they have the best breakfast in the area.



Jeff

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor - Keep Driving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you love crappy tasteless food that will make you sick. Pull up a chair. The smell of manure from all the farmers boots is breathtaking, Throw in a rude dirty waitress to complete the experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Barn Restaurant also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Cedar Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Barn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.