We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beertown

Beertown
Waterloo Town Square | 75 King St. South – Unit 37, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
+1 519-885-5151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 286 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Fusion, Gastropub, Pan-Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only for the beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a beer drinker, just went for lunch with a friend. I have to say their beer menu is impressive but their food menu lacks quite a bit. service was good and atmosphere is that of a typical pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    53
    34
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“I didn't think I would ever give a gastropub an excellent rating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm not a fan of Texas Roadhouse restaurants or gastropubs in general but on Saturday everything conspired to make our trip to Beertown excellent.

It was a warm, sunny, summer's day so we asked to be seated in the outdoor beer garden. Four of us were seated at a large picnic table so there was lots of elbow room. I like that in a restaurant. We shared two appetizers and sampled several beers. On the Waterloo Public Square, LatinFest 2013 was just getting started. There was energy and activity everywhere. Dare I say that it almost reminded me of Montréal?

The selection of beers is very impressive. The two appetizers (2 lbs of chicken wings plus Warm pretzels, cheese dip & butcher board) were very good and our server was very friendly and helpful.

We will be back. I would recommend Beertown to anyone looking for something much better than a Roadhouse type of restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Ok only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

An average size of selection of Canadian and American beers. Preferably we were looking for Czech and German beers... Food menu was very limited and also average in choice. Plenty of staff but not efficient. Over priced average restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go for the beer, not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Recently went to Beer Town with a few friends. The service was friendly and prompt but the food was disappointing. My fish and chips arrived lukewarm. The fish was soggy and the fries were dark brown, bitter and greasy. This was my third time here and I probably won't be going back any time soon. The beer selection is good and the Fruli is a must try even for non beer drinkers. Expect a very loud atmosphere, as in yelling across the table to be heard loud. Beer Town would be fun for a few drinks with friends on a Friday night, but don't go if you're looking for a nice dinner out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not measuring up to the hype and prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very pretentious and pricey. I expected much more. The food is mediocre and staff is impersonal, The positives are the extensive beer list and patio facing the square.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beertown also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Beertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beertown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.