We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good take out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye's Buffet

Ye's Buffet
583 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2U 2E5, Canada
519-888-6066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 286 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Picked some up when staying from out of town. Actually really good and affordable. The actual restaurant looked basic, but staff seemed nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Did the food improve?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were surprised to see this restaurant not getting a higher score.
We have been to Japan and it is a far cry from a true traditional dinner in Kyoto.
But one should comapare it with similar restaurants, and then it stacks up quite well.
The many was varies, the service was good, and yes the atmosphere was like sitting in a big undecorated hall.
But it was busy with very few empty tables and quite a young crowd.
The Miso soup was well above average; yet I would have accepted a slightly more watery version in an "All You Can Eat" restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food..but terrible atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Went out to eat on a busy Friday night. Great sushi...lots of choices..but not a nice atmosphere if you are looking for a total dining experience. It is a big room that is so loud that i felt that i was eating in a gymnasium. At the end of the week I want a fun but relaxing experience and this wasn't it...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sushi OK - all other menu items not so!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We had made reservations, but was seated in a very uncomfortable table. No thought was put into the seating arrangement. It is an "all you can eat" style restaurant in which you write down the item numbers and quantity on a piece of paper and the servers bring you the food as they see you have finished what you have. The ambiance is very much "fast food." Our chairs were very uncomfortable to sit. The food was brought in fashion "whatever and whenever!" We got some items that we did not order, some items were brought in one plate which made it difficult to keep track of what is yet to come before reordering, and one dish ordered in the very beginning of the visit was brought after our desserts. The noodle dishes were tasteless, just noodles and oil. Sushi was nice. Chicken dishes were questionable as it was obvious that they did not use good quality cuts of chicken. The dessert items were still frozen. The service was poor and frustrating! I would not recommend this place or go there back myself. A big disappointment.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye's Buffet also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ye's Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye's Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.