We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

This hotel is good value for your money.

Good: The bed was very comfortable. High quality sheets and a soft duvet like a cloud. Big TV and free internet.

Bad: Getting to your room is quite difficult. It is a maze to the back of the hotel where the elevators are. And you have to walk by the open pool, which smells strongly of chlorine. The elevators are really old and slow, so it's a good thing there are only four floors. The restaurant is good, but expensive.

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — getting to the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
18
28
13
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Waterloo Inn from June 5- June8, 2008. The hotel is located between a busy highway and a Ford dealership. However, we did not have any problems at all with noise. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot. The view wasn't much, but it was quiet and the room itself was adequate. There are rooms located on the interior of the hotel overlooking an inner courtyard, this would be much more scenic, but there were quite a few people taking advantage of the good weather and having a few drinks in the courtyard, so I doubt it would have been as quiet in the rooms facing there. We ordered room service for breakfast twice. They were very fast and courteous and the food was delicious. We never had an opportunity to try the hotel restaurant Rushes, but we heard it was good. There is a nice bar in the interior of the hotel called Traders. There are some restaurants nearby, an East Side Marios, a steak house and grill, a chapters with a starbucks, harveys, BK, Tim Hortons and the Conestoga Mall is about 15min walk away. I would probably stay here again if visiting Waterloo.

  • Liked — Quiet Area
  • Disliked — Far away from the Universities and the Town Square Shopping
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

Had a great stay at the Waterloo Inn. Very comfortable beds and duvets. Extremely clean, spacious rooms. It's now my favourite place to stay in Waterloo.

The breakfast at their restaurant is not included, but it is high quality. I love their cinnamon brioche!

  • Liked — comfortable rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I've stayed at the hotel a few times for work in the last several months. The room are stunning. The TV, the coffee, the room service were all fantastic, especially considering the room was less than $200USD. Oh, and the sheets are the softest sheets I've ever enjoyed at a hotel, I've actually tried to find them on the web in order to duplicate the luxury at home.

I'll second a couple of criticisms that other folks have also noted: the front desk staff was bad. They made me wait over 20 minutes to check in while one of them was on the phone with a girlfriend or something. I was finally allowed to check in when a manager happened to walk by and said something to the desk folks about helping customers instead of talking on the phone. To add insult, they were absolutely unapologetic about it.

The bathrooms were a little outdated. For instance, I was cold and wanted to take a bath, but couldn't because there was not a proper "stopper" in the tub. So, even though there is a tub in the room, you can't use it.

All in all, the pros certainly outweighed the cons. A nice hotel, a great value, but could use a little more service training.

  • Liked — Wonderful Sheets and comforter
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

The hotel itself is a bit of a maze and getting to your room may be a long walk (though inside).

The food at Rushes and the bar is fantastic. I recommend renting a car as the nearest food places are too far to walk (especially in the winter).

There is a free shuttle from 7ish to late afternoon that can pick you up or drop you off at any location in Waterloo.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

The Waterloo Inn was much more than I expected given its price. It was significantly better than most hotels I have stayed with in its price range. The rooms were very well appointed with especially luxurious, large bathrooms. The hot tub was a very nice way to relax after a tiring day of traveling. Other plusses were the comfortable beds, free and fast wireless internet, and the LCD TV.

The only downside with the Waterloo Inn is the slightly confusing layout of the hotel. Going to the lobby or going from a room in the courtyard section to a room in the tower section required a great deal of walking with many twists and turns.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Hotel layout
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Just returned from a two night stay here. I have nothing but good things to say about the Inn. The staff could not be more accomodating or welcoming. The room I had was extremely well put together -- nice comfortable bed, big flat screen tv with free internet access. The restaurant is good and the bar even better with a 'tapas' menu that's ambitious and interesting. The place is deceiving in that it doesn't look like much from the outside. Inside is a bit of a maze but all in all, I don't think you can beat it for the price for a full service hotel like this one.

  • Liked — Canadian courtesy is one of the great joys of life and here it is practiced perfectly.
  • Disliked — It's a bit of a walk to get to your room.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel

Address: 475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre is conveniently located on a treed, spacious property bordered by King St. and the Highway 85 expressway in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The Waterloo area is home base to dozens of well-known corporations including Manulife, Sunlife, RIM, Dalsa and Home Hardware, and our hotel is within a 10 minute drive. Mere blocks away are the University of Waterloo, Perimeter Institute of Theoretical Physics, Wilfrid Laurier University and the Centre for International Governance Innovation. Nearby attractions include UpTown Waterloo, Princess Cinema, Waterloo Park, African Lion Safari, Wings of Paradise, Grey Silo Golf Club, Stratford Festival (30 minutes away), St. Jacobs village (and Farmers Market) and throughout the month of October, Kitchener's Oktoberfest. At the Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre, the largest independent hotel in the region, deluxe accommodations and facilities are complemented by extraordinary staff providing friendly, professional service around the clock.Conference facilities rival those of west Toronto hotels, with over 15,000 sq. ft. of meeting space in two large conference rooms capable of seating up to 1200 people and an additional 5,000 sq. ft. in eight boardroom-/ breakout style meeting rooms. We also offer a beautiful heated pool and whirlpool in a quiet skylit atrium, sauna and fully equipped fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. Local shuttle service is provided at no charge Monday to Friday. The hotel’s in-room amenities include mahogany finished bedroom suite and work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed internet access, the in-room hospitality with refrigerator and coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, On-Command video/TV video games, and a complimentary morning daily newspaper. Located in the heart of the hotel, Rushes Restaurant is our hidden gem. The seasonally-refreshed menu offers an exquisite cuisine that will delight you for breakfast, lunch or dinner, be it in the contemporary main restaurant or Rushes Courtyard in summer. And don’t forget the wine list! Rushes’ excellent wine cellar has been recognized for the past three years with an Award for Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine. Guests coming to the Kitchener and Waterloo area will find special, personalized comfort and extraordinary service at our hotel, just what you are looking for after work for relaxation, or fun during a vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.