We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Waterloo, ON” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Waterloo, ON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live in Kitchener-Waterloo. If you're coming in to stay - you'll love it here. Well located.
Close to Conestoga Mall, great access to our expressway. Indoor Pool, Restaurant...
Closest to Waterloo's Wildcraft Restaurant. Mary D'Alton, Sally Burns, Donna Doogan...do a great job of running the Inn! Staff is very friendly! Wonderful to stay no matter what the season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
19
31
13
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My sister and I went to Waterloo and decide to stay in Waterloo Inn, which was a very nice hotel. Good service, well located and the staff is very friendly.

The room is not so big, but very comfy!!!

I highly recommend this hotel in any season of the year!!

Room Tip: lower floor rooms and very practical when you are traveling in car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is my go to place to stay in Kitchener/Waterloo. I stay here three to four times a year or business and pleasure. There are two distinct parts to the hotel -- a newer tower and an older somewhat tired section. The good news is that the older section is now under renovation, with the renovations appearing to be carried out in a manner to minimize disruption to guests. I will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again even during renovations. It has an excellent restaurant. The rooms, especially in the newer section are very comfortable. Service is very good as well. Located just off Hwy 85 the hotel has easy access to the entire Kitchener/Waterloo region. I tried other hotels in the region prior to this hotel -- I haven't bothered since.

Room Tip: Until renovations are complete you may want to consider asking for a room in the tower section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Inn M, Manager at Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are indeed excited about our newly renovated rooms. We have also just opened a massage therapy facility at the hotel..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here on business. While a rather large conference centre, the room was clean and comfortable, bathrooms a bit small. Okay for business travel. Nice looking pool area. THe restaurant had very good food. The surroundings were a bit industrial, but it was convenient to the downtown and university area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barataria, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we checked in our international credit card had been flagged and suspended. they were very accommodating and understanding and took cash for 1 night stay although we were booked for 3 nights, while we sorted out the card. The rooms are outfitted with very comfortable queen sized beds, nice & clean hardwood floors, average sized bathrooms. It was convenient being on the ground floor to pull the car up to the patio door and offload and load luggage, no hauling it all through the halls and lobby. There was a little kitchenette. We didn't eat a lot at the hotel, but the one meal we had was excellent. The housekeeping service was ok. Look out for the geese, there is a large parking area attached to the hotel with a green area, geese tend to stop over for a rest and feeding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I am surprised to read some of the low ratings for this hotel. I stayed there this week and had lovely, quiet, comfortable stay. Everything worked as I expected, unlike with other hotels I've stayed in. They had all the amenities: free WIFI (that worked 100%), coffee facilities, hair dryer (which is found hanging on the inside of the bathroom door), iron etc. in the room. The bed was comfortable, the room was gorgeous and it was QUIET. I was presenting at a course in the hotel and had a problem with my laptop - and the set-up staff helped me out with it. The staff at the bar and reception were equally helpful and friendly. During my stay, one of the participants on my course said she'd also recommend the hotel to friends and family for "girls' weekends and shopping trips". The pool and recreation facilities looked great, though I didn't use them. I'd be happy to stay here again and recommend the hotel for conferences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, ON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Please note that the review of the room is entirely different than the review we would give the lounge. Room was extremely dated..bathroom fixtures were old and heavily rust stained. Got tired of hearing children running down the hallways (including being able to hear them from the second floor), while in our room. At 2:30 pm the char staff were just starting to work on cleaning the rooms in our hallway, asked her to skip our room and just hand us a new package of coffee for the morning. Unless time and money are spent on upgrades I would not consider staying at this hotel again.
As for the lounge...that is an entirely different story...our server, Shannon, was attentive and gave us some great advise on choices from the tapa's style menu (don't miss out on the onion rings). The quality of food offered was far beyond what we expected and normally get in a hotel environment. For the price and quality of flavour, presentation and service we would give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel

Address: 475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre is conveniently located on a treed, spacious property bordered by King St. and the Highway 85 expressway in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The Waterloo area is home base to dozens of well-known corporations including Manulife, Sunlife, RIM, Dalsa and Home Hardware, and our hotel is within a 10 minute drive. Mere blocks away are the University of Waterloo, Perimeter Institute of Theoretical Physics, Wilfrid Laurier University and the Centre for International Governance Innovation. Nearby attractions include UpTown Waterloo, Princess Cinema, Waterloo Park, African Lion Safari, Wings of Paradise, Grey Silo Golf Club, Stratford Festival (30 minutes away), St. Jacobs village (and Farmers Market) and throughout the month of October, Kitchener's Oktoberfest. At the Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre, the largest independent hotel in the region, deluxe accommodations and facilities are complemented by extraordinary staff providing friendly, professional service around the clock.Conference facilities rival those of west Toronto hotels, with over 15,000 sq. ft. of meeting space in two large conference rooms capable of seating up to 1200 people and an additional 5,000 sq. ft. in eight boardroom-/ breakout style meeting rooms. We also offer a beautiful heated pool and whirlpool in a quiet skylit atrium, sauna and fully equipped fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. Local shuttle service is provided at no charge Monday to Friday. The hotel’s in-room amenities include mahogany finished bedroom suite and work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed internet access, the in-room hospitality with refrigerator and coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, On-Command video/TV video games, and a complimentary morning daily newspaper. Located in the heart of the hotel, Rushes Restaurant is our hidden gem. The seasonally-refreshed menu offers an exquisite cuisine that will delight you for breakfast, lunch or dinner, be it in the contemporary main restaurant or Rushes Courtyard in summer. And don’t forget the wine list! Rushes’ excellent wine cellar has been recognized for the past three years with an Award for Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine. Guests coming to the Kitchener and Waterloo area will find special, personalized comfort and extraordinary service at our hotel, just what you are looking for after work for relaxation, or fun during a vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.