We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool/clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice pool/clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Waterloo Inn in March 2012 and found it very nice. The pool was well heated and a decent size. The room with 2 queen beds was pretty large. The inn has many different wings but it is not confusing since it is well marked. On the way to the elevators we needed we had to pass through an inside doorway near the pool and it turned out to be an automatic door which was very handy when you are pulling luggage. We had Sunday brunch at the Rushes? restaurant and the food was great and our server Dominique was wonderful. This is a very nice place to stay and close to everything in Kitchener/Waterloo. I would definitely stay there again. The mattress on the bed was the most comfortable one I have ever slept on (better than my bed at home).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    32
    14
    7
See reviews for
18
28
13
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've stayed at the Waterloo Inn several times in the past. The hotel is clean...that's most important thing to me. However, one of the last times we stayed there, there was construction going on and the hotel fire alarm accidentally went off at 7 AM. On my last visit, the shower knob in our room came off and so we had to fill up the ice bucket with water from the sink in order to bathe. As a result, the hotel staff gave us a reduced rate at check-out and a free complimentary breakfast in order to make up for the inconvenience. The hotel restaurant is ok, but overpriced. The Irish waitress was extremely kind and helpful, bless her heart.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Waterloo Inn is a great place to stay. I stayed at the hotel in the middle of winter and yet the extensive lobby of the hotel, specially the area near the pool, with ample green plants, appeared to give an impression that it is spring. The room was comfortable and clean. There are plenty of eating options around. Parking is plentiful. The staff are friendly. Will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stay for two nights in a double-bed room because of an event in University of Waterloo.

The hotel location is good, provided that you rent a car! It is close to a shopping mall and is in close proximity to University of Waterloo and RIM.

The fitness center here is very basic - two jogging machines, one cycling machine, and limited strength machines. However, the hotel do provide a good swimming pool!

The restaurant, Rushes, provides a very good Sunday brunch and above-average buffer breakfast. The food and drink served in Traders Exchange are also awesome!

Room Tip: Remember to make an advanced reservation for the Sunday brunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Easy to get to, close to everything business in Waterloo.
Honest recommendations for dinner, Wildcraft Grill & Bar, within walking distance.
Breakfast at the hotel is first class.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed for a couple of weeks on a work related visit at Waterloo Inn and found it to be very pleasant. The place has been renovated and the room was clean and tidy with free wifi access for internet. There were limited options on the room service menu but the place is in close vicinity of multiple options for food. The staff were very friendly and the complimentary shuttle service to and from office was a nice advantage. Didn't really like the swimming pool for its size but I guess that can be expected with a mid level place. I did not go to the Waterloo Inn with much expectation but all in all had a very satisfactory stay and wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Attended a great wedding at the hotel. The banquet facilities were very good as was the food and service.

The hotel is a bit of a hodgepodge. It seems that it was built in sections over the years. There are lots of long hallways and then short staircases. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel

Address: 475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre is conveniently located on a treed, spacious property bordered by King St. and the Highway 85 expressway in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The Waterloo area is home base to dozens of well-known corporations including Manulife, Sunlife, RIM, Dalsa and Home Hardware, and our hotel is within a 10 minute drive. Mere blocks away are the University of Waterloo, Perimeter Institute of Theoretical Physics, Wilfrid Laurier University and the Centre for International Governance Innovation. Nearby attractions include UpTown Waterloo, Princess Cinema, Waterloo Park, African Lion Safari, Wings of Paradise, Grey Silo Golf Club, Stratford Festival (30 minutes away), St. Jacobs village (and Farmers Market) and throughout the month of October, Kitchener's Oktoberfest. At the Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre, the largest independent hotel in the region, deluxe accommodations and facilities are complemented by extraordinary staff providing friendly, professional service around the clock.Conference facilities rival those of west Toronto hotels, with over 15,000 sq. ft. of meeting space in two large conference rooms capable of seating up to 1200 people and an additional 5,000 sq. ft. in eight boardroom-/ breakout style meeting rooms. We also offer a beautiful heated pool and whirlpool in a quiet skylit atrium, sauna and fully equipped fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. Local shuttle service is provided at no charge Monday to Friday. The hotel’s in-room amenities include mahogany finished bedroom suite and work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed internet access, the in-room hospitality with refrigerator and coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, On-Command video/TV video games, and a complimentary morning daily newspaper. Located in the heart of the hotel, Rushes Restaurant is our hidden gem. The seasonally-refreshed menu offers an exquisite cuisine that will delight you for breakfast, lunch or dinner, be it in the contemporary main restaurant or Rushes Courtyard in summer. And don’t forget the wine list! Rushes’ excellent wine cellar has been recognized for the past three years with an Award for Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine. Guests coming to the Kitchener and Waterloo area will find special, personalized comfort and extraordinary service at our hotel, just what you are looking for after work for relaxation, or fun during a vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Inn Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.