We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Your Bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   547 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2L5Z7, Canada (Formerly Destination Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Check Your Bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firstly there is nothing wrong with this hotel, located very well for all the attractions in St. Jacobs. The room was fine, the breakfast was well supplied and the reception area was very welcoming. In fact we enjoyed staying at this establishment.

However, and this is something that really gets to me. When I checked my bill after I returned home, I noticed a "Direct Marketing Fee" had sneekily been added to the cost of the room and the tax. I questioned it with the hotel, and was told that this is what the hotels in the area are doing. The amount for one night worked out at about 2 1/2 %. I am not sure if this is a one time charge or is charged every night, which over a few nights could amount to quite a substantial amount.

I questioned this with the local tourist board, who told me that it must be a hotel charge, and was not being charged by all the hotels in the area, and at this stage had not been sanctioned by them. I was being "sluffed off" by their explanation, and it was not true.

To me a direct marketing fee is advertising - which is covered for the business traveller by their company, and in turn the company gets a tax allowance as an expense. What does the individual tourist get? Nothing, except another fee.

I expect this in New York, London, but Waterloo, Ontario - no way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
30
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Everything about this hotel is top notch. From the speed of check in and check out, the friendliness of the front desk clerks, the quality of the free breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms this hotel surpasses the test.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are newer and would be preferential to the older rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madoc, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent two days visiting the area. Have stayed at this hotel before some time ago. We were very happy with this hotel as the room was clean,comfortable, and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and whirlpool were in good shape and clean. Hotel location was good and reasonably close to area attactions. Price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ensure to enquire if room is pet free should there be health issues such as allergies etc. Also it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Read the reviews for Waterloo Hotels and picked Destination Inn over the others and we were not disappointed. The Kitchener Waterloo area has a number of hotels in the area near the 401 highway but out of the way for a visit to Waterloo. The Destination Inn was located in the northern section of Waterloo, with lots of shopping and places to eat. The hotel was very clean and the front desk staff friendly. The breakfast more than looked after our needs but others looking for a hot breakfast will not find it. I would rate the Destination Inn number one in Waterloo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed there for 7 nights. The Service is excellent. The hotel is clean and good location. Thank you Samantha (I hope the spelling right)! She is so helpful and wonderful. I called couple months before my trip because I had 3 bookings through 7 nights using the coupon. There was one booking missing in her system. She said she was going to check with her manager and called me back. Within an hour, she called me and confirmed everything and she also gave us a deluxe double room (it was a deluxe king).

When we arrived, check in was fast and easy. The room is clean and big. Our coffee machine in our room was not working. We called the reception and they quickly got us change another one. Breakfast is good but the coffee tastes a little bit weird.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from Aug 30th to Sept 1st. It was a surprise for my husband-he grew up near St Jacob's Ont and we hadn't been back to visit for a long time. I had checked out several hotels in the area and found the Destination Inn seemed the best value for the money. They had a breakfast buffet included in the room rate which none of the other hotels had. It was right across from the Conestoga Mall-which was great-did some shopping there. Also it was only about a 15min drive straight up King Street to St Jacobs. We arrived about an hour early for check in but our room was ready. The check in was fast and we were given a room on the 5th floor-room 501. It was right at the end of the hall so there was no one beside us-nice. Loved the room-nice little sitting area-loveseat and chair. The kitchenette was a great idea-sink, microwave, mini fridge and dishes and cutlery in the cupboards. There was a coffee maker on the counter. King size bed which was very comfortable, separate vanity in the bathroom with lovely toiletries and hair dryer. We had a view of a cornfield and King Street beyond that from our window. Breakfast is available from 6:00am-10:00am. They had coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices-apple, orange , cranberry and red grapefruit. A variety of cold cereals and hot cereals, waffles with maple syrup, and toast with a variety of jams and peanut butter. Cold hard boiled eggs, choice of yogurt, croissant-with Philadelphia Cream Cheeses, choice of a variety of muffins and bagels.
We had a dip in the pool and whirlpool-pool is not huge but we enjoyed it. It is located in the basement along with a fitness room and guest laundry, Just off the main lobby by the elevator is a chair and desk with a computer on it which is available for guest use.
We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Waterloo area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here while dropping son off at U.Waterloo. Clean, modern room with king size bed and pull out couch. Nice bathroom area with great large walk-in shower and toilet separate from sink area. Great for getting ready in the morning. Mini-kitchenette in room with coffee maker, fridge and microwave next to sitting area.Modern decor with marble counters in bathroom and kitchen. Very impressed with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast area was spacious and well stocked. Excellent location accross from Constoga Mall and a short drive to U. Waterloo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener

Address: 547 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2L5Z7, Canada (Formerly Destination Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honest, Uncomplicated,Comfort is key at the Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener. Comfort reigns in our modern suites and rooms, where our guests enjoy high-end amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet, large flat-screen televisions, free local calls, plush pillow-top mattresses, a mini-fridge, and many more comforts of home. Location is key to a hotel’s popularity and our proximity to the Village of St. Jacobs and other enticing Southern Ontario attractions make our hotel the ideal destination. Travellers will love our Waterloo, Ontario hotel's central location in the Waterloo region, just minutes from Waterloo’s Technology Park, RIM Park, and both Universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Starwood so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destination Hotel Waterloo
Destination Inn Waterloo
Four Points By Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.