We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benedict's

Benedict's
623 King St, Welland, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 108 Restaurants in Welland
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Welland, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

nice little place down on King Street. Its perfect for a nice quiet breakfast. The staff is friendly and the food is always good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't look down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have been there 3 times and on my last and final visit was completely disgusted by the filthy floors. The first two times that I went I was sandwiched between to other tables and didn't notice the floors. No reason for it being that dirty in the summer. If the front of the house is that dirty you can just imagine how clean the back of the house is. They are only open from 6am-2pm, plenty of time to sweep and wash the floors daily!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“And great little breakfast/lunch eatery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

And great little place to go and eat. Open early and closed at 2pm. Breakfast menu has quite a few choices. Food has always been good and the service has always been great with very friendly employees! Always a nice place to go to eat!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Normally a Fav, but poor customer service will probably keep me away for a while”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I want to start off by saying Benedicts is normally a staple for my Family (My family of 4 and my parents - 6 people) after my daughters soccer games Saturday mornngs.

But this morning we went in to enjoy what has become a traditional Saturday Morning breakfast and we were turned away - why? - becouse we were told "I cannot hold a table of 6".

"I can't do that - I can't fit six - I know people get frustrated, but I'm too small - no way!" was the way our request was greeted by the hostess.

Keep in mind we were just there the week before and were seated no problem as well as a large party of more then a dozen people behind us.

"We were just here last week and It wasn't a problem - we can wait, even come back ... it's no problem." was our reply (after all we enjoyed our breakfast there the week before).

"No I'm just to small - I can't hold parties like that" was her reply.

The gentleman behind us - not in our party - looked confused by the hostesses comment as well.

We left bewildered - and went to Golden Grill just a little down Ontario Street for a wonderful breakfast (nothing fancy but the food was great and they had no problem seating our "enormous" party of 6).

How do you not "have room" for a table of six? we could have crammed in a booth for crying out loud ... I know couples with 4 kids, are they out of luck?

I felt as though we were being pushed aside as less valuable then a smaller party ... Is it becouse we have kids? I dunno - I'm still really confused.

If the owners happen to read this I would like to see a reply posted.

Unfortunately if you are a family or party of more then - I guess - 4(?) ... don't bother going "you won't fit" (unless - I assume - you sit in groups of 2 to 4 ... strange).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great breakfast place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have had breakfast here a few times. Husband is a connoisseur of Eggs Benedict in our house and he swears that Benedict's makes the best he has had so far. I make sure to bring cash as they do not accept debit and I hate using the ATM machines in businesses as they charge to much. I will be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedict's also viewed

 

Been to Benedict's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benedict's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.