We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable hotel, but the staff is what stands out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Prince Charles Drive, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“clean and comfortable hotel, but the staff is what stands out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I travelled to the Niagara area and stayed at this hotel for two nights. We were in town as a stop over, and because we arent familiar with the area, we did not know the best places to go for food, entertainment etc... The lady at the front desk was a lifesaver! She was able to recommend a wonderful place for every meal we needed, as well as a nearby shop where I was able to find health food products (which I forgot to bring with us!). She was very knowledgeable, and patient...she really seemed to take pride in her work. She was always accomodating and willing to help us by answering questions, or providing anything we needed during our stay. A big thank you to you Christine! Because of her welcoming attitude, both my husband and I will recommend this hotel to family and friends who visit the area!
The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, and we were able to take in a nice walk along the canal due to the perfect location of the premise.
We will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for the kind words for our front desk staff Christine, I will definitely pass them along to her. I am pleased to hear that she was able to accommodate all your needs. Hopefully you will return again soon as the area does have a lot to offer.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
47
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel is quite a distance out of the city/shops. Large room but small bathroom.
Walls are very thin, you can hear other residents in neighbouring rooms. A huge problem were guests directly above who while only walking around their room, it was very noisy and disturbing in our room below.
Breakfast (complimentary) was very good - all you can eat.
If you are attending any kayaking or rowing regattas at the close by centre, recommend the 2km walk along the river directly outside the hotel.
Reception staff on arrival was NOT very helpful or friendly. Others we came across during our 4 night stay were helpful and accommodating.
Air-conditioning available in the room outside the bedroom cannot be felt in the bedroom - however leaving the bedroom door open allows for some minor relief.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at our hotel. I do apologize for our reception staff on your arrival, as customer service is top priority to us. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stopped here en route to Niagara Falls. The hotel is 20 plus years old but is sited on a beautiful property bordering the Welland River and we walked along the waterfront and had a lovely time. Kids were swimming, people fishing and boating.
All rooms are suites and the price was surprisingly low for this type of accomodation.
We stayed in unit 205 and were quite comfortable in the very nice bed.
BUT, at about 10.30 pm, we heard very loud footfalls from above. This went on until past 11.00 pm. There was no t.v. noise, just constant foot falls. I am sure the guest had no idea he was bothering people below.
In the morning I woke up at 5.30 am. Then about 5.45, the same loud foot falls came down from above. This went on until about 6.55 when the guest(s) left the room. No fault attached to the guest in 305 who probably had no knowledge of the disturbance. It is a serious flaw in the building structure.
Mentioned this to reception in the morning. Was told the building is 20 years old and the floors are wood and make noise.
Difficult to accept this explanation as the floors seemed to be concrete below our feet and ceilings also appeared concrete slabs.
Otherwise, it was a very pleasant stay in a very enjoyable town.

Room Tip: Always try for the top level in case all floors in rooms are so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologize for the noise from the room above, but the explanation you were given is correct, they are wood floors, there is no concrete noise barrier between the floors. The Welland Canal behind our hotel has lots to offer other than swimming, fishing and boating, there is also dragon boats, canoe, kayak and rowing competitions happening, it is a very active place. Please if you do return request the top floor as it is our quietest.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Huge room, well maintained, many creature comforts! Our only wish is for a king size bed instead of a queen. Other than that, we love it. Especially a door on our bedroom!! Received good advice from the front desk for local pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at our hotel. We do have suites with king size beds, unfortunately they were all reserved when you stayed here. I am pleased to hear that our staff was helpful with providing eating establishments. Hopefully you will come back real soon and stay with us again.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Quiet, clean and friendly staff, not to mention decent prices. The suite area is an added bonus and the kitchen an extra convenience. We did not have time for the free breakfast, but it smelled good and lots of folks took advantage of it.
Having stayed in the Niagara region many times and knowing the types of accomodations available, I can heartily recommend the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. We value your comments and feedback. Our breakfast does smell good and tastes even better, next time you are with us please take time to relax and join us for the complimentary full hot breakfast. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a nice suite hotel, in a nice location, not too far from the Niagara area and the Lake Erie area where there are many beach locales. It is far enough back from the road that traffic noise isn't an issue. Port Colborne is just a few minutes down the road. There are plenty of restaurants & shopping just to the north in Welland. If you are planning on going to this hotel book your room as soon as you have your dates set as their system automatically starts bumping the rates up as the occupancy/reservations go up. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a full size fridge & stove. Very nice room. The breakfast is quite nice - all the usuals + apples, oranges, fruit salad, pancakes, yogurt, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage. Some of the items aren't available every day as they alternate them every other day. They have the TO Star + National Post complimentary every day. The fitness center is quite nice with a good variety of equipment + free weights. My only complaint is the internet speed. It is really SLOW, comparable to dial up from years past. I would definitely stay here if I was coming to this area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Sorry to hear that your internet speed was slow, I will check with our internet provider. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beaches and all the other locales that the Niagara area has to offer. We hope you will come back and stay with us soon, as there is plenty to do in Niagara.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I had to attend a funeral suddenly. This hotel was accommodating and friendly. The small kitchens were a pleasant surprise and helped cut some expense of eating out all the time. The staff were compassionate when they found out the reason for our visit and were kind to my family. If I were to ever get back to this area I would certainly stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sorry to hear of the passing of your loved one and on behalf of our entire team, I do express our condolences. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us again under more pleasanter circumstances.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Address: 300 Prince Charles Drive, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites hotel offers spacious non-smoking suites. Each one features a bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed and kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and range top stove. All guests have access to our free wireless internet, fitness room, free on-site parking, and complimentary hot breakfast. We have a limited quantity of a modest pot and pan sets to be used in the guest room kitchenette. Centrally located in Niagara, 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 15 minutes from St. Catharines, 10 minutes from Port Colborne. Located next to the Greater Niagara Cycle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Welland
Welland Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites Welland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.