We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Western in Welland, Ontario is the BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Prince Charles Drive, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Best Western in Welland, Ontario is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

An unexpected trip to the Niagara Region left us in a quandary; where to stay, we needed a hotel close to the main highway as well as the core area. I did a quick Google search and came across the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites.

The three story brick building was undergoing minor construction in the front area of the hotel and we were re-routed to the back of the building to register. Ivy, the receptionist gave us a warm greeting and we were able to get an early check in. Our room was spacious and it overlooked the historic Welland Canal. Our kitchenette was well stocked with all of the necessities and the living room furniture was modern and comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and service so much that we decided to stay at the hotel for an extra day! We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were so impressed with our room that I asked one of the cleaning attendants if all of the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable review. I'm very pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you with an early check in and that you enjoyed your stay so well that you decided to spend another night with us.

We are currently constructing a porte cochere at the front entrance, so I hope using the back entrance was not an inconvenience for you. Please come back and see us again soon, to see all of our new changes and upgrades.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    56
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
49
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rimbey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nites, reasonably priced, small kitchen facilities in each room, limited utensils can be borrowed from the front desk, daily continental breakfst, grocery stores close by, with in driving distance of many tourist attractions. quiet area , friendly staff.,

Room Tip: a few rooms have a fulll size fridge and stove if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisory. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchenette suite and your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, as we are doing many upgrades to the property.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Warmest Regards, Anne Guillemette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights again the week of October 8, 2012. We are return customers because this hotel is simply amazing. The staff are all so friendly and prepared to help in any way. It is clear that there is a great management team that motivates and supports the staff.
The rooms are large and well appointed and the beds are amazing. Breakfast is a real treat and has everything you could ask for.
It is a short drive from the Falls but the hotel and the people are worth the drive. The Welland Canal trail is right behind the hotel which is great for bike riding and hiking.
Can't go wrong staying here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review, your comments are very much appreciated as well as your repeat business. Please note that we have shared your comments with our staff on a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future Best Regards, Anne Guillemette, General Manager Best Western PLUS Rose City Suites...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wendy and I drove north from Clarion, PA to Welland, Ontario to see Niagara Falls from the Canadian side. We chose this motel, about 30 minutes west of The Falls, to stay due to the monetary value provided. This location, brand new motel, was nestled in an industrial area of town with somewhat easy access to everything we needed. Check-in was hassle free - very friendly attendant at the desk.Our room was quiet and clean WITH A KITCHENETTE - all was in order and zero issues. Highly recommended to travelers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Curtis F

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. As you have stated we are less than 30 minutes from Niagara Falls and all other attractions in the area. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchenette suite and your stay. Please come back and see us again soon.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We cycled over 37 km in the rain, from St. Catharines along the awesome Greater Niagara Circle Route, that, in this section, ran alongside the Welland Canal(s) (number 4 - the latest, and number 1 - the first). The hotel was packed - with a lot of other cyclists - and we all parked our bikes in one of the downstairs meeting rooms. So, it was very bike friendly. We got very helpful restaurant recommendations from our reception staff and a great hot breakfast the next morning (included).

BUT, BUT, BUT - I hope the management and staff read this and do something about it, which would be easy. We biked an extra kilometre, because going south along the trail, we rode right by the hotel - and there was NO sign of any kind!!!! Which meant that we ended up pushing our bikes back north, along the verge of the very busy Prince Charles Drive (I had a teen with me and did not want to risk the road at the end of the day, laden down with panniers). The next morning, we biked directly to the trail from the end of the parking lot. I do think that it would be fabulous if there was some kind of discreet but obvious signage - clearly, this hotel is doing a lot to welcome and support cyclists travelling this route.

PS I note that some reviewers have complained about the price. It was the same as for the B&B that we stayed at in St. Catharines and less expensive than our Port Colborne Hotel. There are not that many options for accommodations here - the Niagara College Conference Centre (the residences that are available in the summer), had already closed, in preparation for the school year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Your business is important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for the great suggestion on signage, the biking trail is regional property, but we will definitely check with the region to see if we can post a sign on their property indicating where our hotel is. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went to a family reunion in Welland, ON mid-July 2012. It seemed to be "THE" place to stay.

While the room (suite) was large, it was somewhat outdated. We got a 2-queen bedroom, which also included a hide-a-bed in the living-room. We had a full kitchen with a small fridge, stove, microwave, and sink. That was reallllly convenient (for food and beer).

The queen beds were extremely comfortable. I can't vouch for the hide-a-bed cause our daughter was too lazy to pull it out, and instead, slept on the couch.

I must say, I was leery of putting my bags on the carpet (both bedroom and living space), and did not sit on the couch. The couch reminded me of one that I might have had in the '70's. Really guys, you really need to change them. The bedroom furniture, however, was quite nice. The two queen size beds were very very comfortable, and the dresser and armoire were very nice.

The bathroom left little to desire, although big, but no hell. I did very much enjoyed having the little fridge as we had food and beer in our coolers. So that was a big plus.

We found the price to be extremely steep. Considering the location (Welland, ON), for 2 nights, it was 338.38 before tax, which included 36.00 (18.00 per night) for our daughter being with us (she's over 12). All in all, it was too much for Welland. My gawd, we are going to Montreal next week, which is costing us 98.00 for one night (OK, minus a kitchen), but we ARE in downtown Montreal in August. I will post a review after that stay.

Bottom line...OK for a couple of night, too expensive, and requires renos. Please, get rid of the carpet and that crappy couch.

Oh, forgot to say that it also included breaky, which was fair. And by the way, no smoking!!!!!

Will report soon on Montreal. By the way, we are going to see Madonna :)))))))))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have spoken with our housekeeping department about the carpet in your suite. I do realize that each and every guest has different tastes in decorating and we do value your suggestions. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the kitchenette in your suite and our complimentary hot breakfast.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the only decent hotel in Welland. Rooms are comfortable and a reasonable size and price.The location is not that good and there is really nothing else in the vicinity. It is however quiet. The only realy good place to eat appears to be 'Empty Belly' which is a 10 minute drive. Despite the name the food is OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor. Your assessment of our hotel is greatly appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at 1-800-387-8186.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Anne Guillemette,
General Manager,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Address: 300 Prince Charles Drive, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites hotel offers spacious non-smoking suites. Each one features a bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed and kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and range top stove. All guests have access to our free wireless internet, fitness room, free on-site parking, and complimentary hot breakfast. We have a limited quantity of a modest pot and pan sets to be used in the guest room kitchenette. Centrally located in Niagara, 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 15 minutes from St. Catharines, 10 minutes from Port Colborne. Located next to the Greater Niagara Cycle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Welland
Welland Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites Welland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.