We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Beat It !! Best Value in Town !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North End Burgers

North End Burgers
605 Brock St N, Whitby, Ontario L1N 8R2, Canada
(905) 668-6998
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 240 restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Grill
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Cannot Beat It !! Best Value in Town !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Always a must for lunch with business associates or by myself and family 1-3 times per week !

The owner Johnny and Jane are outstanding people - truly caring of their customers and NO ONE is a bigger LEAF fan opr hockey fan that Johnny - the photos throughout the restaurant prove that.

Always seem to have the hamburger special - excellent burger, mountain of fries with gravy and canned pop all for only $7 !!
Many of my associates have the steak sandwich and just drool over it !

The unique owner and his staff are terrific with their food prep and with their customers - this location was built on offering a quality product, at exceptional value, in a personal and simplistic manner - owners are right there meetiung and greeting and preparing and cleaning every week day.

Offers take out business which is huge. One sees many of the same customers each week - and that means a lot as people just don't come back if they do not like what they eat or see.

Never a problem with parking in the plaza it is located in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    8
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Johnny and Jane have a great spot. We have lunched here for years. Love it. They have a great combo deal that comes with fries , burger and pop. I might add this is one of the few places that actually give you a can of pop ...not the slop from a fountain machine!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

First time to Johnnys North End Burgers and it wont be my last. Ordered a couple of cheeseburgers and wow it was delicious. The bun didnt look like the kind I would usually enjoy but it suprised me. If you like an old fashioned burger and dont mind to wait as they make it to order, then its worth the visit. Wasnt expecting much before I entered but was suprised with all the hockey pictures, posters, pucks, and even autographed jerseys and photos of many hockey stars of the past. I see it was a favorite of Roberts and Niewendyk as well as they are from whitby and even a photo of the owner holding the stanley cup in the restaurant with Joe. Brought back a lot of hockey memories. Worth the visit but it is a little rough looking. Could use a minor makeover as many of the photos and posters are damaged over the years i guess. Although I recommed they never change the theme they got going. If its a first date you are planning on bringing, it will be your last, so go in just expecting a good burger. Ill be back when Im in the area. Next time Ill be trying the steak on kaiser with some fries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just the best, nothing more, nothing less”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Johnny was, is and will always be the place for burgers in all of Durham region.

the best place to go with kids after any sport activity.

I moved from Whitby 6 years ago and I still stop by when I am near Whitby.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great burger combo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

ruff around the edges but great food for a fair price, been eating here since I was 5 and am 30 now

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North End Burgers also viewed

 

Been to North End Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North End Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.