We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different sort of lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mongolian Grill

Mongolian Grill
75 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9S2, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 248 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mongolian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A different sort of lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's the first time I'd been to a Mongolian restaurant and this was just for lunch.

An interesting and novel experience where you only ask the waiter/waitress for rice and tortillas. You then go to an extensive spread of raw meats and vegetables and select a bowl full, topping off with a selection from a wide range of sauces and dry seasonings.

You then present the bowl to a central area where it is stir fried in from of you and you're presented with a finished dish.

A really good speedy lunch but I'm not sure how good it would be for an evening meal - the option there is for a 'feast' where you can return for more bowls of food to be stir fried but how much stir fry can one person eat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grilled food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Interesting family experience where you are able to select your food, have it cooked and then it is brought to your table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HEALTHY FLAVOUR ON YOUR TERMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Mongolian Grill is a great concept where you fill bowls with your favourite choices for a stir fry and they cook it up for you right in from of your eyes. It is as healthy as you want with a variety of sauces to let you change things up every visit. Their salad bar is less than overwhelming but you can always steal some extra fixings from the stir-fry side of the wall to make sure you get all that you crave. Overall highly recommended for a filling healthy choice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Way to create a stirfry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Honestly, one of the best places I know. How can you pass down a build your own Stir Fry joint. It's simply amazing and fast, and custom made to your liking !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Awful service, bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We made a reservation for 8 - 10 people, assuming everything would be ready once we arrived at the restaurant. Unfortunately for us, they lost our reservation. We waited approx 30 - 45 to finally get seated. The server was very polite and positive in the beginning of our meal. Towards the middle and end, we had trouble getting some extra items we had ordered from the server. At the end of the meal, when we required our bills, apparently the computer was down, so it took them 20 min to get our bills. As I was paying cash to the server, he got upset (since the rest of my party wasn't leaving a tip) and gave me an extra discount on the meal. It was really awkward, and annoying to say the least, since I did have intentions of giving a tip. I won't be going back to this location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mongolian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.