We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Whitby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Whitby to your Saves list
Residence Inn Whitby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N9S3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Toronto Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went to a wedding Sept.14th in Ajax but the only hotel in that city (not counting motels) was booked so we chose the Residence Inn in Whitby, a short cab ride from the reception. The Queen 1 Bedroom suite has a full kitchen with a large fridge, microwave, two range burners and a dishwasher in the sitting area with a couch and a TV with pay movies available. There is a separate bedroom area with a second TV and a full washroom and the suite was clean and comfortable. For some reason the TV in the bedroom can't access the pay movies...only the one in the sitting area can. Coffee and popcorn are provided and while there's no room service, there are several restaurants and fast food places just across the street. Rates are very reasonable and the staff is friendly and helpful. Parking is free and there is a free breakfast buffet from 7 to 10 that you can partake in if so desired. Overall a great choice if staying in the Whitby area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Summerfunboy,
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor regarding your last stay with us. I'm glad that you decided to use us for your overnight stay to attend the wedding. Our room are suitable for both short and long term stays as you noticed in your suite.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
48
25
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
OSHAWA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have not had the pleasure of staying here, but have been on a tour of the facility and have recommended it to many of my friends. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel and grounds are very clean. This is definitely a good choice for long-term stays, but they are very accommodating to short stays as well. I will continue to recommend this hotel to people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear ClassyFreeSpirit,
Thank you for you kind words on Tripadvisor regarding our hotel. Thank you also for also recommending us to your friends, I would like to have you actually stay with us at your convenience and experience what we have to offer for yourself. Please contact me directly at 905-444-2056 and I will take care of everything else.
Thank you again for your review.
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was awesome for us to have a full kitchen to keep costs down. For my adult son and I the 2 separate rooms - bedroom with full door and living room queen sleeper were awesome... he was up all night on his computer. Also having 2 separate work areas was great for us (I used the dining table). Free full breakfast with eggs bacon pancakes juices and dinner of chili one night and soups the next were really well done, vegetarian options both nights. Cheap laundry with free soap was great too. Staff were some of the best I have encountered in my travels. Rooms clean and nicely furnished, hot tub was closed for repairs. A+ esp for the price!

Room Tip: room 203 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Dave N.
You have sold our hotel extremely well, I couldn't have sold it better myself. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were perfectly priced for your family. I will pass on the message to the staff regarding your experiences with them. Once again, thank you very much for your post on Tripadvisor.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

good hotel close to go train and shopping and easy reach to Toronto and greater Ontario area. Rooms are good size and breakfast was very good. Pool could have been a bit warmer and did not like the pets allowed rule.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Charles M.
Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted on Tripadvisor. We are glad that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Regarding our pet policy, we have guests that stay with us for long periods of time and their pets are like family to them so we want to be as accomadting as we can to ensure that they enjoy their stay as well.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were in a lacrosse tournament and this was the best location for all recreation centres. The rooms were nice, clean and the beds were really comfortable. The pool was small but great for kids. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Heather C.
I would like to thank you for the great review you posted on Tripadvisor about our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed our facility and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed during a tourament and the staff was very accommodating. Enforced hotel rules in a very kind, professional way. The rooms were beautiful, clean and filled with everything you need to have a great stay. There is a bbq area with a very nice patio. The complimentary breakfast was great! Fresh and many varieties of food. Healthy options also. When in Whitby, we will return!!Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear LAXfirstyear,
Thank you for your wonderful revier on Tripadvisor, I'm glad that you and your team enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome all teams and actually have teams that have stay with us year after year, some for as far back as 8 years ago.
We look forward to welcoming you and your team again in the near future.
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed one night on business. I had checked out a number of hotels before booking this one and it was as advertised. I booked a studio suite for $119 +HST and was pleased with the room size and amenities. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed including a dishwasher, living area, king bed, large bathroom area and a desk with FREE wifi. "Check out pictures". Everything was very clean and I had no issues. Staff was attentive and made me aware of the free dinner available in the Gatehouse court yard. They post a calendar in your room of what's being served each night. Breakfast was also included and was used by many of the guests. Location is adjacent to the 401 and has a number of roadhouse type restaurants nearby. This was my first stay at a Residence Inn and I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Studio suite more than enough room for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Northenersun,
Thank you for the great comments and pictures that you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is always good to hear that a guest enjoys their stay and the service that we provided to them was appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Whitby

Address: 160 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N9S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Whitby 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Whitby Hotel Whitby
Whitby Residence Inn
Residence Inn Whitby Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Whitby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.