We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome amenities and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Whitby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Whitby to your Saves list
Residence Inn Whitby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N9S3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Ottawa
1 review
“Awesome amenities and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was awesome for us to have a full kitchen to keep costs down. For my adult son and I the 2 separate rooms - bedroom with full door and living room queen sleeper were awesome... he was up all night on his computer. Also having 2 separate work areas was great for us (I used the dining table). Free full breakfast with eggs bacon pancakes juices and dinner of chili one night and soups the next were really well done, vegetarian options both nights. Cheap laundry with free soap was great too. Staff were some of the best I have encountered in my travels. Rooms clean and nicely furnished, hot tub was closed for repairs. A+ esp for the price!

Room Tip: room 203 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Dave N.
You have sold our hotel extremely well, I couldn't have sold it better myself. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were perfectly priced for your family. I will pass on the message to the staff regarding your experiences with them. Once again, thank you very much for your post on Tripadvisor.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
48
25
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

good hotel close to go train and shopping and easy reach to Toronto and greater Ontario area. Rooms are good size and breakfast was very good. Pool could have been a bit warmer and did not like the pets allowed rule.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Charles M.
Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted on Tripadvisor. We are glad that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Regarding our pet policy, we have guests that stay with us for long periods of time and their pets are like family to them so we want to be as accomadting as we can to ensure that they enjoy their stay as well.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were in a lacrosse tournament and this was the best location for all recreation centres. The rooms were nice, clean and the beds were really comfortable. The pool was small but great for kids. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Heather C.
I would like to thank you for the great review you posted on Tripadvisor about our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed our facility and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed during a tourament and the staff was very accommodating. Enforced hotel rules in a very kind, professional way. The rooms were beautiful, clean and filled with everything you need to have a great stay. There is a bbq area with a very nice patio. The complimentary breakfast was great! Fresh and many varieties of food. Healthy options also. When in Whitby, we will return!!Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear LAXfirstyear,
Thank you for your wonderful revier on Tripadvisor, I'm glad that you and your team enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome all teams and actually have teams that have stay with us year after year, some for as far back as 8 years ago.
We look forward to welcoming you and your team again in the near future.
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed one night on business. I had checked out a number of hotels before booking this one and it was as advertised. I booked a studio suite for $119 +HST and was pleased with the room size and amenities. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed including a dishwasher, living area, king bed, large bathroom area and a desk with FREE wifi. "Check out pictures". Everything was very clean and I had no issues. Staff was attentive and made me aware of the free dinner available in the Gatehouse court yard. They post a calendar in your room of what's being served each night. Breakfast was also included and was used by many of the guests. Location is adjacent to the 401 and has a number of roadhouse type restaurants nearby. This was my first stay at a Residence Inn and I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Studio suite more than enough room for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Northenersun,
Thank you for the great comments and pictures that you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is always good to hear that a guest enjoys their stay and the service that we provided to them was appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I visit Whitby from the UK for a week every year to spend time with an elderly relative who is in a retirement home. For the last 4 or 5 years, we have stayed at The Residence Inn which serves our needs perfectly. Staff are invariably courteous, friendly and helpful - nothing seems to be too much trouble and any minor issues which crop up have always been dealt with promptly. Breakfast is excellent, rooms are clean and offer more than adequate facilities for our needs.

Refubishment was being carried out during our stay last year but caused us no inconvenience at all. This year there was an issue with plumbing which restricted water use for a few hours on a couple of days. Initially we were concerned about this but staff were reassuring and, in the event, this too proved to be a brief and very minor inconvenience. Any building subject to this sort of use has to have work carried out from time to time. We look forward to our return visit next year.

Room Tip: We take a one bed suite which suits us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Alf1951_13
Thank you for the wonderful comments that you posted on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the fact that you have stayed with us continously over the past few years. We are glad that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and public spaces and I'm glad that we did not inconvenience you last year during the process. We look forward to having you stay with us again next year.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the hotel as a guest for 1 night and although I was unable to use the pool and hot tub facilites due to time, I completely enjoyed my stay. The hotel is extremely clean and there was always someone at the front desk or close by with a ready smile and willing to help. Its not a fancy hotel, but it is well looked after from the gardens, to the lobby and dining area. The rooms were compact but not cramped, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We were facing the road and yet were mostly undisturbed by the noise from it. Our wake up call came promptly and efficiently and I really appreciated the friendliness of the staff even at such an early hour. Breakfast in the morning with waffle machines, fruit, yogurt and hot coffee was wonderful. There was also a nice selection of bagels, muffins and breads. The room was so nice and light to sit in and I enjoyed that start to my day! The hotel was so very close to many restaturants, and as my boyfriend was staying the whole week at the Residence in, I got to experience a couple of nice places that I didn't know were close to my hometown.

If I find myself in need of a place quite local for myself or any of my friends, I would definately recommend this hotel for couples, family or solo!

Ps. The hot chocolate chip cookies at the front desk were such a sweet, and quaint touch, thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Wendy Henderson,
Thank you for your very kind comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. You have described our hotel and the service we try to provide in great detail and for that I am grateful. We do try to ensure that all of our guest's stay be as perfect as possible, and I'm glad we were able to do that for you.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Whitby

Address: 160 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N9S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Whitby 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Whitby Hotel Whitby
Whitby Residence Inn
Residence Inn Whitby Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Whitby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.