We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Side Mario's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
East Side Mario's
4170 Baldwin St South, Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 234 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Can't say enough about it, always good and fast and efficient service. Pasta was wonderful as was the pizza.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worst East Side Mario's...ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I have been to a TON of East Side Mario's - in fact, he worked there for several years as a student so he's very familiar with what the product and service should be like. The ESM is Whitby is absolutely horrible. We moved to Whitby a couple years ago and were delighted that there is an ESM 2 minutes from our house. The service is appalling. We've ordered delivery a few times - and every time we wait for well over an hour - and receive cold food. We keep giving it a chance but we're stupid for doing so. Just had another disappointing experience. Paid over $50 to have a pizza and salad delivered. What a mistake! 70 min later and we had a cold pizza, a salad without dressing, and were missing the homeloaf we ordered. Go elsewhere!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The food at the whitby location is always amazing and tastes fresh and great. The service is always above and beyond. I will always continue to return best italian in durham.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still hasn't improved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently returned to this East Side Mario's after an absence of 18 months, hoping that it had improved. Our last experience was horrific and even reporting it to head office did not improve my opinion of this location (they didn't really care and thought a $10 gift card would make everything right). Sadly, I was disappointed yet again.

Yes - this time the food was hot but that would be about the only good thing I could say about the visit. First, the server - UGH! Zero for enthusiasm...we were definitely an imposition and a bother (even though we were easy customers). Second, the food - temperature hot yes, taste - none, and spice was through the roof to the point it destroyed my palette - I had ordered spicy but expected taste too! Lastly, not one person checked on us after our meal was served - they couldn't get us out fast enough (I didn't bother complaining to management this time).

Can't say I would ever return again - even though its proximity is so convenient. Save your money - go elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

 

Been to East Side Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side Mario's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.