We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger for a non burger joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KB

KB
120 Brock Street North, Whitby, Ontario, Canada
+1 905-430-0236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 246 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $13 - $21
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Canadian, Organic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Chef Kevin Brown, is KB, providing fresh, playful, and innovative restaurant dining. We invite you to join us and taste the difference!Our goal is to provide you with exceptional food and refreshment with value, and warm personable service, in a fun, dynamic and casual environment. Our menu is a market driven, created daily, guided by the seasons, and showcasing the best in local, sustainable ingredients, complimented by superior spirits and a large selection of wine. Our staff is dedicated to your experience, smiling ambassadors to the passion and love of food, wine and service.Established in 2012.Owned and operated by Chef Kevin Brown who brings over 25 years of top level experience of restaurant management.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best burger for a non burger joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Travellers and locals you must add KB to your list of very good restaurants to visit. I have been enjoying eating at as many restaurants that I can locally and when I travel.
I paid an overdue visit the other day for lunch and decided to try the burger. This burger was cooked perfect with juice, flavour with a wonderful portion of pulled pork along with onions and other fantastic toppings. This burger along with home cut fries and a barking squirrel draft made my day. I hope to bring my wife in soon for dinner as you can't get tired of the menu as it changes frequently
Thanks to Kevin/Sonia and the great staff at KB

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy but they ran out of food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here with friends at a 7pm reservation. Many of their dishes were already sold out? They should plan better regarding having enough food for a busy Saturday night.
The food was good, but upset that 2 main dishes were completely sold out at such an early time of the night. I have never experienced this before for such an early reservation time.
Great service, good food, but disappointed with them running out of food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Visitors and locals must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Just completed our starters of homemade duck pate along with dubliner cheese and salami. The flavors complimented the local organic draft beer.
I am now torn between the mixed grill or lamb shank yet a 3rd great sounding burger.
Folks the staff, owner and chefs are top notch and the friendly professional service keeps us coming back.
If you appreciate quality fresh food and great value for it please try this place.
Thanks KB

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have eaten here three times in order to give it a fair shake. The first time we just had appetizers and were enthused about the menu, service, atmosphere etc....great music btw.

The second time was for breakfast: very disappointing and way to expensive. My eggs benedict were cold and when I told the waitress when she asked how I liked them didn't offer to take them off the bill....I didn't want a second helping at this point. It was also a bad combination of flavours. My husband had a sausage dish and he said it was too heavy and didn't enjoy his dish either (and he'll eat anything).

Third time was just fine, nothing special and again it seemed over priced.

We won't be going back a forth time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A very average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having had several good meals at Chef Kevin Brown's former restaruant (The Burbs in Pickering) and reading about his locavore vision for KB, we were expecting an interesting and tasty meal. Unfortunately, it was far from memorable.

The KB website talks about the importance of beverages. On seating, we were told we could have anything we wanted, so we went for our favourite, a champagne cocktail. What we eventually got was some nondescript sparkling wine mixed with cranberry juice and an apology from the wait person saying the bartender had no idea what to give us.

The menu includes about 8 appetizers and perhaps a dozen or so main courses. We were encouraged, if we wished, to select several of the apps to share like tapas rather than the usual app and main combination. There just weren't enough interesting sounding dishes here to make us want to do that.

For entrees, there were one or two listings from each of the major protein families. No evidence anywhere - on the menu of from the wait person - of that locavore value.

The food was fair, with a similar theme underlying all of our appetizers and main courses, the taste was all in the sauces and condiments. The supposed stars of the show (e.g., crab cakes or lamb shank) were all bland and uninteresting. As well, all dishes came to the table warm - not hot. Not so bad they needed to be sent back, but not as hot as they should have been.

The wine list is short with one or two listings from each of the major wine countries. Most are in the $30 - $50 range.

Finally, the front room at KB is small, but very noisy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KB also viewed

 

Been to KB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.