We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for what you Pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Whitby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Whitby to your Saves list
Motel 6 Whitby
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   165 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N1C4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Jackson's Point, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok for what you Pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was a a bit disappointing. Although it looks alright from the outside, once you step it you may feel like you paid too much.
Located right on the Brock St exit in Whitby, it is a good location for someone who just needs a stop for cheap or need a cheap hotel for a night event.
I stayed here because I was in a wedding, I had already paid for a ton of stuff to prepare so i decided to cheap out on the hotel as the Holiday Inn and the Residence Inn were very pricy for that night.
When you first arrive at the front desk, the smell of cigarettes was a bit overwhelming. The front desk staff seemed like a robot, no greeting just checked us in, swiped my credit card and gave room keys. The place looked a little grimy, and had not been updated in a few years. The room itself was ordinary, tv was a dinosaur (had the box on the back and was in a very uncomfortable spot ( hard to look watch from the bed). Bed was ok for the night but any longer and it would have been an emergency trip to the chiropractor. Washroom had obviously not been fully looked at in a while, shower curtain was yellow and the toilet hadnt been scrubbed fully and the sink was starting to corrode as the tap wouldnt turn off.
All in all if you are looking for a bed to sleep in but not much else this would be satisfactory but with the number of hotels along this stretch of highway or in Whitby, this would be the last place i would stay.
I am from Whitby so I am aware of the motels and hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking, unless you can stand it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    23
    7
    16
See reviews for
15
22
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ont, canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Remember to say non smoking if you can't stand the smell and tell them to put you far away from the smoking rooms because the smell seeps under the door. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom needs a little help. It's a cheap place to stay if you can get a room away from the smoking rooms.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The motel 6 in whitby, is comparable to a modern day concentreation camp. As you walk through the doors, the smell of ciguretes lingers through the air, the one staff memeber in the hotel, is very, VERY disrespectful. The comforters are ideal for a 4 year old childs room. There is a weird brown substance that is unremovable stuck to the bath tub. If you have a sliver of respect for your self, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

If all you require is a clean, pleasant room for the night then the Motel 6 will do the trick. Although the rooms are small and have minimal amenities, the front desk staff are pleasant and the lobby and hallways are well maintained. Now here is where this property shines: you are within walking distance to a wonderful breakfast spot called the Sunset Grill, also walking distance to Swiss Chalet, Harveys, a gas station, and a Kelsey's Roadhouse bar and grill. Don't miss the breakfast at the Sunset Grill and expect to wait a few minutes. Order your breakfast 'to go' and bring it back to the room for quicker service. Although far from luxurious, the Motel 6 will 'get the job done' and you will not want for nearby spots for a quick bite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Motel 6 for 9 days since we wouldn't get the keys to our new home till then. The place is clean, doesntIt is a nice motel with lots of food in walking distance ( breakfast restaurant, swiss chalet, Harveys, Kelsey's, and more only 1.5 minutes walking distdoesn't smell, uses key cards for all entries, has ice, microwave, free coffee, etc. Staff was great and fulfilled all of our requests for extra towels, cards, soap/shampoo, etc. The staff that was great that we met included Susan, brandyn, kadie, Amanda, Ryan, Francois, and Hudson. Great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I was in this area for a function I needed to attend one weekend. Unfortunately this was an unexpected last minute fill in for someone and I was on a budget. The Motel 6 fit my price range, but I was wary... based on previous reviews. I have to say though I was pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, well equipped, right off the highway and the service was great. Special mention has to go to Brandyn at the front desk. He helped me out with a last minute request. Never panicked and found a way to get the information required.... thank you Brandyn! Overall if you are in this area and are looking for value I don't think you can go wrong here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here on my way back from a business trip to Montreal, the rates are ridiculously cheap so I assumed I'd get what I paid for; basic service with basic "class" I was totally wrong! The hotel and rooms are clean, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and went above and beyond their necessary duties to make sure I was happy, the manager was even helpful and courteous, he's definitely doing things the right way here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Whitby

Address: 165 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Whitby 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Whitby Hotel Whitby
Motel Six Whitby
Whitby Motel 6
Whitby Motel Six
Motel 6 Whitby Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Whitby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.