We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cabos

Los Cabos
1009 Dundas Street East, Whitby, Ontario L1N 2K4, Canada
905-668-6080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 234 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Small nice restaurant, friendly owner, good life music. Food is good, cheaper drinks than in other restaurants around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    40
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chiveche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Chiveche is amazing. Fresh scallops and shrimp with avacado. Perfect balance of lime juice. Great job. Kids meals are nice change and seem to love it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Vegan Options in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Los Cabos is one of my favorite restaurants. It's got something for everyone, which is great for me, as I only eat a vegan diet and it's nearly impossible to find a place that accompanies my diet and still interests the rest of my family. Since I discovered Los Cabos last year, all of our birthday dinners have been celebrated there. The food is amazing and served hot (it's the only place I've ever even touched re-fried beans), service is quick, the drinks are sweet, creative and fresh - and the patio is a great spot in the summertime!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They offered me gluten free substitutes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We love going to this restaurant, the atmosphere is friendly and its bright and colourful, leaves you feeling like you're on vacation

Once I became gluten free I was so impressed that the owner helped me navigate the menu and even made some changes from flour tortillas to corn tortillas, which by the way were a whole lot tastier!

Great fresh food, clean place, wonderfully friendly owners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“One of those real finds in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The old asphalt on the driveway wasn't promising but my wife and I ventured in on the basis of recommendations. So glad we did! Darren, one of Los Cabos' two owners, greeted us and made us right at home at our table. You can tell Darren enjoys his customers, but a thousand big and little touches also tells you he puts his customers first. The restaurant is brightly coloured and delightfully decorated in a style to rival any chain. We've been back 3 times since our first visit and the food is always the main attraction. The menu is principally "Tex-Mex", but the variety and preparation makes choice your toughest challenge. Do finish with one dessert choice I've never seen at a Tex-Mex chain: the Dessert Nachos are amazing and worth every one of the 40 hours on the treadmill!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Cabos also viewed

 
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.