We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just OK...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin to your Saves list
Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Boulevard St-Joseph, Drummondville, Quebec J2C 2C1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Drummondville
MN
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“just OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent two nights here recently as my collegue booked the rooms and found the stay to be just OK to me.

Friendly staff at front desk. Room was large. TV channel selection OK with US network TV available, internet was slooooooow, door slamming from other rooms rattled the walls, a refrigerator was available in the room too.

Bathroom sink was outside the tub/shower/toilet area, and there were actually electrical outlets available on the wall near the bedside nightstand!

Didn't eat at the restaurant for any meal, so no comment on that, nor did we use the pool or anything.

Oh yeah, housekeeping did not respect the do not disturb sign on my door. I had no need for their services after my first night, but they came in and did it anyway. Heck, those signs are the universal sign for "please stay out of my room", why do some places ignore that request?

Finally, there is road construction outside the hotel that makes it sort of a pain to cross the street to get over to the McDonald's, so be aware!

Overall, it was just OK and although I would return and stay again if business brings me back again, I would look at other options, if there are any in this town...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for of all in taking interest in our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We take the comments from our guests seriously and do our best to make your stay as positive as possible
We are pleased to announce that we have recently changed our internet provider to better accommodate the increasing needs of our guests.
Please accept our sincere apology for the failure to notice the sign posted at your door. It is the policy of the hotel to go back at the end of the day to double check all ¨do not disturb¨ signs. We want to ensure that all bedrooms get cleaned before the departure of the employees at the end of the day. We have talked to the department to guarantee a better control.
We would like to invite you back to our hotel sometime soon to show you a new and better experience, we suggest that you take the time to experience our others outlets to really appreciate all that we have to offer.

Kind regards

Hotel et Suites Le Dauphin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
31
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to that hotel for an overnight stay on a round trip through the us and canada.

I'll make it short and crisp:

PLUS
- big room, very clean and modern
- huge king size bed, couch and a desk the soize you can actually use for working
- fridge, microwave, coffee maker and real dishes (not the plastic ones, appreciate that)
- very good restaurant with welcoming and friendly staff
- flat screen
- modern and very nice and clean bathroom with all you need
- big indoor pool

MINUS

- the air conditioning knows only on and off, and if it turns on you better wear some ear protection, we had to switch it completely off at night
- believe it or not, our room had a window and balcony on the 2nd floor of the pool area, so
we could not open a windows unless we wanted to feel like sleeping next to to the pool which means 28 degree celsius and chlorine plus the noise of the pumps and ventilation, kind of hard to decide between silence, 'fresh' air, ambient temperature...
- probably because of the pool the sheets smelled like chlorine
- no day light in the room
- since the pool is for fun, screaming kids waked us up in the morning

The room was beautiful but if it comes down to having a good rest and to get a good night of sleep, this hotel just does not work.

Some could say we did not complain and did not ask for a different room (we arrived late and did not realised first, did not want to do so in the middle of the night), but in my opinion they must be kidding me by renting this room, this just lacks understanding of hospitality.

Room Tip: - never get a room at the indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for of all in taking interest in our hotel and sharing this information with us. We take the comments from our clients seriously and do our best to make your experience as positive as possible
We are pleased that you appreciate the design of the room as well as the amenities. We take great pride in insuring that the rooms are cleaned and up to standards.
We would like to apologize for the smell of the chlorine in the room. We understand the inconvenience that was bestowed on to you. In order to assure a safe and clean pool for the bacteria and germs, the amount of chlorine is necessary so we can provide a safe and clean environment to our guests and some people are more sensitive to the smell than others.
We would like to invite you back to our hotel sometime soon to show you a new and better experience, we suggest that you rent the same type of room where you would have a choice with a window that opens and we assure you that you will be more comfortable.

Hotel et Suites Le Dauphin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We thought the rooms were very stylish, modern and comfortable; the staff was friendly; and the food (breakfasts and dinner) was good; and at $112 a night the price is great value.
We had two problems though. The big one is that the AC cannot be controlled from your room. You can set the temperature between 19 and 23 but you can' t turn it off or on from your room. You need to call reception. And it is a loud AC.
The second is that we had a room that looked onto the pool, so it could get loud while the hot tub was open and the drapes needed to be closed all the time, so you couldn't get the sunrise effect in the morning. There were only 5-6 such rooms in the hotel, so avoid them if you can.

Room Tip: Make sure the windows don't look onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment and we appreciate that your recommand our hotel. You gave a good comment about this room completely renovated, it's by the pool and usually like by family with kids. We're sorry about the AC in the room, we do manage the temperature up to 23 celsius and lower than 19 celsius. We invite our guest to call us at the front desk for other temperature request. We're pleased that you had a good time at our restaurant. We wish to welcome you again soon ! The team of the Hôtel & Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night to break up a road trip. Drummondville is very Francophone; I am able to speak French, but the employees were understanding and used English for my family members who did not know French.

Very clean, and our room was recently renovated. The food in the bar was very good. I had a Caesar salad, my sister and father had the spaghetti, and my mother had a club sandwich. All delicious, and our waitress was very pleasant.

One complaint would be the AC. It can only be adjusted between 19 and 23 degrees, and we could not turn it off.

All in all, good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment and we appreciate that your recommand our hotel. As you said, our urban room have been renovated recently and very like by our customers.Our Restaurant Le Globe-Trotter and our bar is renowned for the quality of his food at a reasonable price. We wish to welcome you again soon ! The team of the Hôtel & Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would classify this place as a motel or motor inn. I'm not quite sure how they got 3 diamonds from AAA. I booked a stay here to break up the drive from Quebec to Vermont. Boy, I wish we had just kept driving.

This place is depressing, painted grey on the outside, run down and the walls are paper thin. It is so poorly designed , its like a rat maze of different buildings joined together The indoor pool area was sweltering hot inside and reeked of chemicals. We were booked for a downstairs room at the end of the building in the back. As I was traveling alone with my 11 yr old daughter, I told them this would not work, as it was unsafe. I asked for a room change or a refund. They finally moved us to an upstairs room, still in the back building.

The AC Unit had knobs but none of them worked. I finally had to unplug it to turn it off

The bed was awful, so uncomfortable, the mattresses must be old. The pillows were hard. The only nice thing I can say is that the room was pretty clean, except for the brown hair I found on the coffee service

Worst night of sleep ever, people running up and down the halls all night, no security at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for the time you’ve taken to share your observations with us. Your comments are of great value to us as it gives the opportunity to progress and to evaluate our guest satisfaction.

We are surprised by the experience you encountered during your stay and I am very sorry for the way you feel about your stay with us. I wish I had a chance to talk to you personally.

As you are probably aware, this year, we are celebrating our 50th anniversary. During all these years, we have made it our mission to deliver personalized guest satisfaction as well as a product that excells guest anticipation.

The layout of the hotel with its additions over the years, does indeed makes it more difficult for our guests to find their rooms. Upon the arrival of each guest, a map of the hotel, which is the card holder, is given to all guests together with verbal directions to their room.

For the last five years, we have invested over 5 million dollars in renovations to ensure the standard and quality of our rooms in respond of the increasing demands. The cleanliness of our rooms and facility is of great pride to us and the comfort of our beds is often reflected upon the comments from our guests.

We seldom have the need for such measures; we are in close collaboration with the police. We do have cameras in every corner of the hall ways and parking lots which are monitored at the front desk to ensure the safety of each and every guest.

In the future, if you are driving by with your family please do stop and give us the opportunity to show you a different view of our hospitality as I can assure you that all matters that you have mentioned have been reviewed and discussed by the direction.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived on bikes in transit from Montreal to Quebec and this hotel is listed in the official Quebec cycling guide. Definitely a great welcome for cyclists and no problem with bike storage and the like. The room was really spacious and well equipped. I totally agree with the other reviews that the restaurant was amazing and one of the best meals we had on our trip. The service was great and it has quirky little high backed booths so quite private in a way. The all in package for bed, breakfast and dinner was $230 for 2 people less drinks. Huge breakfast buffet with large number of choices. Seems to be used quite a bit by the business community of Drummondville and usually that's a pretty good recommendation.

Room Tip: It's got a good design round an internal car-park/ courtyard so you can park close to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we appreciate that you recommand our hotel. We're proud to offer to our guest some renovated and spotless room. We're very pride about our Restaurant Le Globe-Trotter, we serve awesome food at a good price. We wish to welcome you again! The team of the Hôtel & Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After several hours of driving from Moncton, NB we needed to relax, eat and sleep before continuing our journey home. We decided to stay in Drummondville, Quebec and were delighted to find this fine hotel located not too far from the highway. The staff were welcoming and friendly and following a quick pre dinner drink we moved to the dining room where we enjoyed a fine dinner complete with friendly efficient service. We also enjoyed a lovely buffet style breakfast the next day, Sunday. We will stay here again the next time we are returning home from Moncton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphinDrummondville, Director of Sales at Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we appreciate that you recommand our hotel. Lot's of traveller stop by our hotel cause we're well located between Montreal and Quebec city. We work very hard to offer good food and services at our Restaurant Le Globe-Trotter. We wish to welcome you again! The team of the Hôtel & Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin

Address: 600 Boulevard St-Joseph, Drummondville, Quebec J2C 2C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Drummondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Drummondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel & Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville is located between Montreal and Quebec city. Our properties is a 4-stars hotel and we are well known for the quality of our services. Guest satisfaction is our priority. We offer an inside swimming pool, restaurant, bar, meeting room, free high speed internet and much more. It will be an honor to welcome you in Drummondville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Dauphin
Hotel And Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel and Suites Le Dauphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.