We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Westt Steakhouse & Raw Bar

40 Westt Steakhouse & Raw Bar
2305 Transcanada Highway, Pointe Claire, Quebec H9R 5Z5, Canada
(514) 428-9378
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
40 Westt Steakhouse & Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $19 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Boulevard Des Sources
Description: Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening. Découvrez 40 Westt, le plus beau secret de L’Ouest de L’île de Montréal, situé à quelque minutes de l’aéroport et a proximité du centre-ville, offrant à sa clientèle une expérience culinaire magistrale dans son ambiance “Hotel Look.” Que ce soit pour savourer un steak succulent, goûter a nos huîtres fraîches assorties, céder a l’un de nos desserts irrésistible ou écourter la musique décontractée; 40 Westt a tous les ingrédients pour un soirée inoubliable.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Quintessential Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been there dozens of times -- always an extremely competent meal with outstanding service.

Drinks are huge. Try the beef carpaccio appetizer. Also, the sliced tomato and blue cheese salad. Excellent.

Steaks are supreme -- tender and tasty. All to do with their dry-aging. As with any great steakhouse, the seafood is also phenomenal. Had their lobster tails last week -- succulent and sweet. Very happy!

Sides are simple and memorable. Try their spinach side and their grilled asparagus.

And definitely leave the time and space for their desserts. Space because they are huge. Time because the soufflé takes 15-20 minutes to prepare. WORTH THE WAIT!

Try it once, you'll see how often you end up returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    10
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This restaurant finally hit rock bottom”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have been going on and off for years, since its opening. In recent years, it has been in steady decline. After one bad experience there a couple of years ago, we stopped going. We hen decided to return and all was well for a while, until a couple of weeks ago. We went on a weekday in the evening. The restaurant was really not busy. Although the young waiter was very nice and trying hard, we had to constantly try to flag them down and ask for bread, water, etc..
Ordered a steak medium and what was presented was a thin piece of burnt fat with a little bit of well-done meat mixed into it. It was chewy and stringy. McDonald's would not serve such a "steak" of they served steak. The waiter said he could not do anything without getting the manager. This took a while, as the manager was outside having a smoke (we saw him as we walked in hanging out with people outside the restaurant). The steak was replaced, only to return thin like a paper, well-done to a crisp. Upon mentioning this again, we were told that the chef on tonight "is not the usual chef' and "is not great" and that the steak was indeed burnt again. No kidding! We had such a feeling because we had been there the week before and had ordered the same thing with no problems. Even the mushrooms which were delicious the week prior, were awful that night.
But when you pay $48 for a steak, you don't want to hear that they are having an off night. I did not eat the steak, opting for bread as dinner instead of a burnt piece of god-knows-what. But the worst part is how it was handled: the manager never returned despite another burnt steak, leaving the junior waiter to offer us desert, which we did not want. The worst part: the bill comes with the $48 charge for the burnt, uneaten steak. Despite ruining our dining experience, instead of an apology, they want to charge us. I could not believe it!!! Upon asking to speak to the manager again, he returned, did not even look at us and simply replaced the bill and darted off.
I think this restaurant which had started off well when it opened, started to decline years ago when it changed ownership. This was certainly the last time. No shortage of far better steakhouses in Montreal. This restaurant s amateurish and inconsistent, the two worst things you can do when trying to be a high-end place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dose not worth that much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special (used to be), for what you are spending you would expect more. Expensive for nothing. You could find definitely better taste for that price in Montreal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great spot near airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to 40 Westt 3 times now, always while traveling from YUL airport. It is a short 5 minute cab ride. The food it great and the service is excellent as well. It is not cheap however the meat and sides are top shelf. Great place for a power lunch as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always the same ... fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been going to 40 Westt since it first opened and I can say that the standard and quality of food and service has not changed one bit which is a lot to say about a restaurant. A must when in Montreal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 40 Westt Steakhouse & Raw Bar also viewed

 
Pointe Claire, Quebec
Pointe Claire, Quebec
 

Been to 40 Westt Steakhouse & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Westt Steakhouse & Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.