We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary miscue” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Academie

L'Academie
6321 autoroute Transcanadienne, Pointe Claire, Quebec, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 79 restaurants in Pointe Claire
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Culinary miscue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I had a free meal through a gift card here. Food wise it was an unmitigated disaster. The fried parmesan was out of a box and something I could accomplish at home with a trip to M&M's. My veal was about as tough as my shoe. My wife's blue cheese cream sauce mussels were very good. Cudos on that dish. We skipped dessert because at this point it did not seem worth it. Service throughout the whole meal was friendly and polished. If only the food could match the service this place with the modern decor and reasonable prices this place would be a success.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    10
    12
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife had the shrimp linguini and I had the bavette of beef. My wife stated that her plate was good, but my beef was not up to par & too spicey. All in all a so-so experience. We will not return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

Bad service....couldn't bring water or braid even after asking twice!!! Salmon was raw...when notified she argued that it was supposed to be like that....I am a chef and know how to cook salmon a little rare ok but not raw....I have had over a thousand salmon and have never seen that!!! Over all terrible experience and I will never go back! Plus I work with the public so I advise everybody I know or meet not to go and waste their time and money!!! Nice job academie....I think you should go back to the restaurant academie and pay attention this time!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not worth a return visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This restaurant had such promise - too bad it wasn't good. The bread they put on the table was the best part of the meal. The soup was watery, the pasta portion was small and relatively tasteless. The service is slow - so slow that we even cancelled our dessert order. We won't be back there anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food at affordable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have been to L'Academie a few times. The special from Sunday to Wednesday at $12.95 for all mussels & pasta dishes on the menu can't be beat. The food is always fresh, the price is very good. Restaurant is very noisy but the food makes up for it. Must give it a try. One of the best bring your own wine in the West island.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Academie also viewed

Pointe Claire, Quebec
Pointe Claire, Quebec
 

Been to L'Academie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Academie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.