We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant,service somewhat lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Weed

Crazy Weed
1600 Railway Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W9, Canada
403-609-2530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $8 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: bow valley trail
Description: for large party reservations, please phone the restaurant 403 609-2530, thank you. price (reflects the average cost of dinner): CAN$30 and under
quebec
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant,service somewhat lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently lunched at this restaurant which is very well rated by the locals.
The food was excellent but our visit could not be labelled excellent because of the service received
Our waitress seemed stressed and seemingly not enjoying her job
Had to ask for a wine list after being seated for about 10 minutes,no suggestion made,no apology
She had to return to our table as she seemingly did not remember what we had ordered off the menu.
If I return to this restaurant I would make sure this waitress would not be serving us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    102
    36
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently Excel in deliciousness !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hubby and I have enjoyed the food and wine at Crazy Weed for years now and they consistently serve interesting local seasonal produce. Fresh light atmosphere. Wonderful presentation and beautiful ambiance year round. Perfect for a romantic dinner, but also good to take the family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I would say this is in the top five of the meals I've ever had in a restaurant. We started with martinis and shared two appetizers - the bread pudding and the Thai pork meat balls. For dinners we had a ribeye and the Thai chicken. We even saved room for dessert - flour less chocolate cake and passion fruit icebox. Everything we had from drinks to appetizers to dinners and desserts we absolutely amazing. I thought the alcohol prices on cocktails and wines were a little high but otherwise everything was perfect. Our server was fantastic as well and when we asked her questions about various menu items she was very knowledgeable! I would come back here again in a second.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service was excellent, food decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were in Canmore for a weekend and heard that Crazyweed was the place to eat so we made reservations well in advance with no problems. Service was fantastic, our server ended up with a really big table but they sent another server to our table and the service was seamless. The food was quite good, I had the halibut. Maybe a little on the salty side but someone else ordered the halibut which they said was fine. Food was pretty good though for the rave reviews and prices, I was ready to be amazed and ended up a little underwhelmed. Desserts were disappointing and pricey as well. With the exception of the pudding which my hubby said was amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gourmet goodness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Delicious food but pricey. Good place to go have a romantic meal with a good bottle of wine. Portions are good and dessert recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Weed also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Crazy Weed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Weed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.