We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food leaving me hungry for more but - really BAD service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Weed

Crazy Weed
1600 Railway Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W9, Canada
403-609-2530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 105 restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: bow valley trail
Canmore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food leaving me hungry for more but - really BAD service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As locals we are frequent visitors to Crazyweed. We simply love the food! I had the Thai chicken my husband had the seafood curry and my child the scallop gnocci. Everything tasted amazing and arrived hot. If I were to make one comment about the food it is that the portions are on the smaller side and I did leave still hungry. The gnocci in particular was small. My child (who does not eat a lot) could have easily eaten twice what was served. She really loved it though. The scallops and gnocci are not typical child fare and I am guessing that few kids would love this item. My daughter did say that she wished that they had a simple margarita pizza on the menu. I wish they bottled and sold the sauce for the thai chicken!

In contrast to the amazing food the poor service really stands out as being the worst in the valley. We arrived at our table in stages with the first person getting there 20 minutes before the last. The waitress did not even take a drink order until everyone had arrived and took forever to bring the little bit of bread they provide out. I have to say I delighted in the smile the waitress gave us as she descibed the desert specials (which were also amazing!). Yet it was the first time that I had seen the waitress show any personality what so ever. I point out the service as I just have to wonder what is going on in this restaurant. There is this snobby way that Crazyweed treat's their patrons almost as though they are doing the patron a favor serving them.

I walk away from every meal at Crazyweed - where I eat at least 10 times a year - shaking my head at the service having loved the food but always still a bit hungry for more!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    153
    74
    26
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Service ok, food excellent but a little bit over priced, nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a lunch with a friend of mine, ate a pizza shrimps-chorizo and my friend a hamburger, delicious. Hot sauce and ketchup homemade, superb!

18$ for a pizza is a little bit expensive though, compare to other restaurants in Canmore. Service ok but snobby, we felt like we weren't welcome?! Maybe because we were dressed with hiking clothes and didn't have a drink, I don't know... Just this makes me want to try other places before coming back and have their famous steak.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food, but atmosphere lacked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food was very tasty and well prepared, but the atmosphere was a little stuffy for my taste. Not sure I would chose to visit there again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited the Crazy Weed for dinner for the first time and loved the trendy feel to the restaurant and the huge windows. The decor was very nice and we enjoyed our table, not finding it overly noisy.

They have a very extensive wine list but I had difficulty finding much to offer us for choices in our price range ($40-$50/bottle). Most of the wines seemed to be $65+, which is great for some that have upscale tastes in wine, but a bit pricey for those of us with less discerning tastes.

The food was very tasty, but again a bit expensive for what we had. We ordered the BBQ ribs and the "New Guy" pizza (potato, creme fraiche, bacon and arugula). Both were delicious. We also enjoyed the foccacia bread that comes before the meal.

We found the server to be nice, but not particularly prompt nor very engaging. For the prices that we paid, I would have hoped for better service particularly in comparison to some of the other restaurants that we tried in Canmore.

We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, but had higher expectations given the prices. I would go back, but I would make it a "special occasion" rather than a everyday meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic service & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We dined here on a Saturday evening to celebrate our anniversary. Reservations are strongly recommended. Beautiful views in a trendy venue. The food choices were interesting & very tasty. The server was very knowledgable & helpful with suggestions from the menu. Pricey even for this area but worth it for a special occasion. We would defiantly go back when in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Weed also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Crazy Weed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Weed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.