We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trough Dining Co.

The Trough Dining Co.
725 9 Street | Walk of Champions, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
403-678-2820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the Ambleside B&B, and my wife and I could not have been more pleased. Both of our meals were terrific, and the service was impressive. The restaurant was small so service is personal, but reservations are necessary.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    29
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A special treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A great place to eat for a special occasion! Each plate is a masterpiece of presentation and taste. They have a great assortment of wines. Its just a couple streets from downtown but still easily walkable from the Canmore Crossing condos.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excelent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fabulous food, very nicely presented and friendly attentive staff.
All four meals tasted really good.
Would recommend it, but it is a bit pricey!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a great meal at The Trough. Our waiter, Kyle, was very helpful. We had the duck and also the baby back ribs. Both were outstanding. The drinks were good, although not very strong. Sangria could use a bit more kick to it, but was still very enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The baby back ribs are soooooooo good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Once again, another enjoyable meal. Superb service. Our waiter (Kyle) was very knowledgeable and a gem to put up with our shenanigans....he played right along! The food was out of this world good. The bruschetta that we started with was not overbearing in taste and oil, but light and delicious. Perfect. The baby back ribs were fall off the bone tender with a jerk sauce that was a delicious flavour rather than heat. mmmmmmm My companions were equally impressed with the steelhead trout entrée (moist) which included a scallop not mentioned on the menu. A very pleasant surprise. Our meals were hot and served in a timely fashion, despite one of the main stoves being down in the kitchen and the restaurant being busy. A good time was had by all. I look forward to the patio being completed in the next couple of weeks. I will definitely be a returning guest because of the food and ambiance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trough Dining Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.