We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trough Dining Co.

The Trough Dining Co.
725 9 Street | Walk of Champions, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
403-678-2820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly & fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

An awesome evening at the Trough. Great friendly service with amazing food. There were no missing ingredients at this small restaurant that would stand out anywhere in North America.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    29
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travel all over the world on business and my only passion while traveling in any given city is to locate the very best restaurant in that locale - money is of no consideration in my constant pursuit of this passion. I spend alot of time researching... I want to share with anyone reading this review that I found the holy grail in a place call called The Trough, yep wrote it right - it's in Canmore, Alberta.
I love this restaurant - the phenominal food, service and ambiance of The Trough. Go. Go. Stay.
I only wish I could move in to this place....even the dressing for the cesear salad broke my heart to have to finish.

Dr J MacLean

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“It does not get any better than this!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went with our son, his fiancée and their friend for dinner at The Trough. I had been there before and was looking forward to getting back. Richard, the Owner, was extremely welcoming when we arrived and made us feel like family. The attentive service was more than anyone in our pay grade could expect, but they treated us like royalty. The entire staff was extremely attentive and we did not want for anything.

And we haven't even mentioned the food yet. Three of us ordered the beef tenderloin and the other two had the ribs. Every meal was phenomenal. The wine that we had, even though it was not the most expensive on the list was aerated before served and was exceptional.

To top off the evening, Richard brought out a dessert plate that included their famous crème brule, truffle, raspberries loaded with 'pop rocks' which was totally unexpected.

We will be back in Canmore this coming Tuesday and have already made our reservation. Looking forward to it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidea Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a party of 6 who ventured out into the Canmore Easter evening. We had heard through friends (who visit Canmore regularly) - that this was a restaurant that mixed fine dining with a casual laid-back attitude and above all a knowledge of food. The wines on offer were excellent - I pride myself on my knowledge of Pinot Noir wines and was pleasantly surprised at what was in stock!! I couldn't make my mind up on my main and was advised to try the duck (which I would never have as a starter or main!!!). Whether it was his 'Jedi Mind Trick' that convinced me or the fact I wanted to be different I ordered it. I was not disappointed - it was absolute delicious. Flavoursome, tender and crispy (if that makes sense!!!). We were made to feel very welcome and felt extremely relaxed and spoilt. In fact we went back for our last night for a second visit!! The Creevy's & Catmul's

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From the moment we walked in (early) to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty! The food was AMAZING, me and my boyfriend are still talking about it! The service was flawless and the drinks were very good!

Even though the place is a small 10-table restaurant, we did not feel rushed through dinner or after we had eaten.

It's THE place to go in Canmore, if you want a Fine dining experience and/or to celebrate something special!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trough Dining Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.