We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Canmore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trough Dining Co.

The Trough Dining Co.
725 9 Street | Walk of Champions, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
403-678-2820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 105 restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Canmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited twice, once it was during the week in the off season and it was very quiet, the second time it was on a Saturday night in season. The food was on both occasions very good, the menu creative, the service courteous and attentive. In season, the restaurant was very loud and very busy, maybe a bit too much for a conversation among friends. However, the food and service are so good, we will go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    175
    28
    9
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not Fine Dining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For fine dining the service was poor. The waiter was not friendly and never smiled. He forgot to bring the wine that one of our guests ordered, and we had to remind him. The braised lamb was light on sauce and underseasoned. The food was unremarkable and overpriced. The atmosphere was mediocre. Overall overpriced for what you get. Oh, and there's no high chair for children. In this day and age that's unacceptable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“march 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

trying to do fine dining and not quite pulling it off. of a group of 4 some of the food was ok some of it was very good. the decor was impressive as was the pace of service. we thought for the price it did not represent value for money when compared to other eateries in the town. the tables were quite close to one another too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We dined here for my husband's birthday and it was exactly what we were hoping for. The atmosphere is great, the food was incredible and the service was excellent. We ordered the lamb and the backribs - delicious! It's a little expensive but worth it for a special occasion. I would definitely eat here again - highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly service, fine dining but you pay for it and thats okay. Nice wines that go well with their menu's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trough Dining Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.