We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trough Dining Co.

The Trough Dining Co.
725 9 Street | Walk of Champions, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
403-678-2820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We dined here for my husband's birthday and it was exactly what we were hoping for. The atmosphere is great, the food was incredible and the service was excellent. We ordered the lamb and the backribs - delicious! It's a little expensive but worth it for a special occasion. I would definitely eat here again - highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    32
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly service, fine dining but you pay for it and thats okay. Nice wines that go well with their menu's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Been hearing about this place and tried it for a special Valentine's dinner. The food was outstanding and so was the service. A bit pricey but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It hasn't changed. Still the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I can't tell you enough about this place. I have already written a review on The Trough. !0 table's , fantastic food, great service.
The cevichi - outstanding
The Fois Gras stuffed chicken supreme - OMG
The jerk backribs - ya gotta be kidding me
GO EAT HERE

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely gathering of friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant was cozy, had an air of warmth and togetherness. Our server (who may have also been the owner?) was friendly (not overly friendly), entertaining (not spoghtlight stealing) and knowlegeable. We were impressed with our fare, and he even took us on a little gin tour. yay uncle vals. I would recomend this stop when visiting canmore, be sure to make a reservation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trough Dining Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.