We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Supper at The Trough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trough Dining Co.

The Trough Dining Co.
725 9 Street | Walk of Champions, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
403-678-2820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Supper at The Trough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bit of sticker shock here but a lot of good news. Beautiful dining room that isn't too big and has good standoff between the the tables. Excellent food - had the halibut. They even brought out a couple of complimentary pallet cleansers/small hors d'oeuvres. Servers are obviously well trained and very good at their job. You pay a lot but the Trough definitely makes it very worthwhile. Will be back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    34
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pure excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had heard great things about Trough so came in with high expectations. It is quaint and charming, simple yet elegant dining experience in the Rockies. Most importantly, the service is top notch. Overall food quality is excellent; I must say their ribs are the best I have even had, with no close seconds. Out of this world. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a staff get-together at the Trough last month, and weren't dissapointed! Several staff members had never been before and had even been recommending this place because of the rest of our opinions.. let's just say, now they have even more reason to talk! The food was incredible and the service was stellar! They even threw in a complimentary dessert us :)
What a treat it was! We will continue to recommend this place!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An example of Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

From the moment we walked through the front door, we sensed the relaxed atmosphere. The service was impeccable, as were our drinks, starters and entrees. For starters I had the caesar salad, which had a deliciously unique dressing and my wife had the asian pear salad; also very tasty and not like any other 'pear salad'. Both were visibly artistic and the taste matched that of its looks, fantastic! For our entrees, I had the Beef Tenderloin, absolutely wonderful; tasty and fork tender, while my wife had the Lamb Shank which she thoroughly enjoyed. Moist and falling off the bone!
As for dessert, we tried the pumpkin carrot cake which unfortunately was a tad on the dry side.

Overall, the ambience, food and drink is a must and we highly recommend it. You can certainly tell that the chef cares what is coming out of his kitchen. We will be back!!
Thank you Trough!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Flavourful Dishes with Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Came her for my birthday dinner and this hidden gem is so quaint and warm.

We felt so special at this restaurant with our water constantly filled, polite wait staff asking how everything was and all the meals were so well planned with a nice taste appy from the chef!

We had the Mushroom Soup (which i loveed!), the Duck Spring Rolls for appetizers and Rack of Lamb (cooked perfectly and full of flavour) and fall off the bone Ribs.

The portions were not small either and full of great flavors.

Dessert I had the Carrot Cake - yummm and hubby had the cheesecake which wasn't the 'best' of the choices.

We would definitely come back - and for the price which everyone mentions, it isn't too bad for the quality of food and the service and great ambiance.

Thanks TripAdvisor peeps for the rating - that was the reason why we chose it and was not disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trough Dining Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.