We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals' go to scene for java” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the communitea cafe

the communitea cafe
#117 1001 6th Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3L8, Canada
403.678.6818
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 100 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $5 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Locals' go to scene for java”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't been said before? Whimsical French pop playing in the background, young hippy chucks on the sofa talking liberal politics, and environmentally responsible nosh on the menu.

When you need a moment to chill and want to feel like a local this is the place to stop.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    4
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food, worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food at Communitea is amazing. The staff is always very friendly. One place you can definitely eat out and not worry about falling off the health train. Great ingredients, gluten free options, beautiful tea blends. The only downfall is it is slow. You can't be in a rush but it is totally worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A yummy rice wrap?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Delicious Gluten and dairy-free salmon and egg wrap with avacado. Freshly made. They had all the right answers to my questions about how to cook my breakfast without contaminating my food with ingredients that I can't tolerate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“One of the more chic atmospheres for coffee places in Canmore.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

While Harvest, Rocky Mountain Bagel and Beamers have a very quirky and local vibe, Communitea feels sleek and chic and it kind of feels like the patrons are moreso from Calgary than from Canmore. While patrons in the other coffee shops often look like they just biked/ran/skiied (as we often do), the patrons in Communitea look like they just drove in from Calgary (as we often do!). That's not a bad thing, but it just means that we would be less likely to go to Communitea looking begraggled post-cycle. We would feel out of place if we went here in work-out gear. Communitea is the place we would go after spending the afternoon wandering around the high street, instead of after an afternoon of cycling. The only problem with Communitea is, like most Canmore coffee shops, it is crazy-busy and often hard to find a table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Best coffee shop me an my wife have ever been to, hands down! We've tried lots on the menu and never been disappoint! You won't regret it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the communitea cafe also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to the communitea cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the communitea cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.