We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craig's Way Station

Craig's Way Station
1727 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
403.678.2656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great place to satisfy any tastes and reasonable rates for seniors. Ours was the Steak sandwich and Ceasar Chicken Salad.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    33
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Find Somelace Better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited Canmore for one night and Craigs Way Station was close by our hotel. I read it was a family resaturant so we decided to try it. Bad decision. Went for supper. It was not busy at all. That should have been the first clue. Hubby ordered the beef pot roast special He doesnt complain but even he said it wasnt that hot and was also really overcooked and very dry.I ordered a hamburger and received a sandwich of which is just as well as I was thinking the burger may have been a frozen puck style. The window beside us was filthy with a squashed fly on it. Very unappetizing to view when you eat. The carpet was filthy and I couldnt help wonder if the kitchen was just as dirty. Never saw the waitress after she brought the meals. Had to ask another waiter to get our bill. Not impressed with this place at all. Dont waste your time on this this dump. . We skipped this place for breakfast and went to the golden arches down the street and had a cleaner atmosphere and better food and we are not into fast food!!!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really good place for a simple meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food here is budget friendly. It is simple cooking at it's best. Tastes good, and a nice clean place. It is somewhat a truck station atmosphere. But, do not let that fool you. It is worth the stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you need a substantial breakfast this is it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge lists Craig's in their recommendations.
Staying two nights in Canmore = two breakfasts at Craig's.
First day I had the Rancher breakfast — 3 eggs (whichever way you like), 5 strips of bacon, a mountain of hash browns, toast and bottomless coffee.
The second day the Rustler — 3 eggs, bacon, ham and sausage, the mountain of hash browns, toast and bottomless coffee. There are many restaurants that serve large portions, but at Craig's the portions are large AND good!
Start the day with that and you won't need Lunch! Guaranteed!!
Friendly, prompt service with a sense of humour; convenient location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Large Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ate breakfast one morning with my wife. Portions were so large we shared a dish. Standard fare with good pancakes. Service was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craig's Way Station also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Craig's Way Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig's Way Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.