We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant in Canmore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zona's Late Night Bistro - CLOSED

Zona's Late Night Bistro
710 Ninth St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
(403) 609-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Restaurant in Canmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our evening meal at Zonas. It had been a number of years since we were last there and we pleasantly surprised by the renovations carried out. We started with the homemade hummus which was more than adequate for two. I had the Mongolean lamb curry which was excellent. It contained plenty of lean meat and was very tasty. My wife had the chicken lasanga which she will have again.when we go to back to Zonas on our next trip to Canmore.The service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Original food at a one of a kind place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went to Zonas with a party of four as it had been recommended to us by one of the local residents. We weren't disappointed. To begin, you walk into Zonas and it has the feel that it was once a house, converted into a restaurant, The atmosphere/decor was is fun, eclectic and unique....much more interesting than any chain restaurant. We had the stuffed mushroom caps and ceaser salads to start. (This isn’t your traditional ceaser, the dressing has horseradish and is very flavourful so heads up on that if you don’t like horseradish). The service was fantastic and the waitress (only upon prompting) had lots of recommendations. In the end we had the beef tenderloin and the stuffed chicken. Not only were both meals very flavourful and delicious, the price was very reasonable. To finish, we had orange sorbet drizzled with chocolate and the cream brulee. The cream brulee was our favorite. Honestly, we had such a great experience, we would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
743 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Great Dining in Canmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner on the patio at Zona's. Be sure to order their yummy caesar salad. My husband loved his chicken lasagna and I enjoyed the Phuket Prawns. Their chocolate pecan pie is delicious and should not be missed - we shared a piece.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent innovative food for right price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We went as a party of 10. The food is a fusion of Mediterranean, Indian, Asian and was excellent. The yogurt with maple syrup and toasted almonds is not only relatively healthy but very tasty and refreshing. I had the red ginger coconut bassa Phuket which was done very well and I was too full to finish. My husband had the curry lamb which was also great. My son is the one who remembered the restaurant from our last visit in Canmore and wanted to go back. Our other family members loved it also. The price for 10 ppl including non-alcoholic drinks, appetizers, salads, and dessert, tea was only $300 including tips so really worth it for the quality and quantity of food. The service was also great. The restaurant is named after the owner's grandmother and the owner, Chris, makes all his own plates which adds a unique homey feel to the whole experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Well Prepared Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a great treat to eat food at a Restaurant , where the entire dish does not come from the fridges of a Cisco or Gordan Food Services truck. The quality of the food is really good, great atmosphere and the service is always friendly. This is one of our favorite hang out spots in Canmore. They know how to make a Real Mojito!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona's Late Night Bistro also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zona's Late Night Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.