We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original food at a one of a kind place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zona's Late Night Bistro - CLOSED

Zona's Late Night Bistro
710 Ninth St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2V7, Canada
(403) 609-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Original food at a one of a kind place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went to Zonas with a party of four as it had been recommended to us by one of the local residents. We weren't disappointed. To begin, you walk into Zonas and it has the feel that it was once a house, converted into a restaurant, The atmosphere/decor was is fun, eclectic and unique....much more interesting than any chain restaurant. We had the stuffed mushroom caps and ceaser salads to start. (This isn’t your traditional ceaser, the dressing has horseradish and is very flavourful so heads up on that if you don’t like horseradish). The service was fantastic and the waitress (only upon prompting) had lots of recommendations. In the end we had the beef tenderloin and the stuffed chicken. Not only were both meals very flavourful and delicious, the price was very reasonable. To finish, we had orange sorbet drizzled with chocolate and the cream brulee. The cream brulee was our favorite. Honestly, we had such a great experience, we would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
603 reviews 603 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Great Dining in Canmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner on the patio at Zona's. Be sure to order their yummy caesar salad. My husband loved his chicken lasagna and I enjoyed the Phuket Prawns. Their chocolate pecan pie is delicious and should not be missed - we shared a piece.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent innovative food for right price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We went as a party of 10. The food is a fusion of Mediterranean, Indian, Asian and was excellent. The yogurt with maple syrup and toasted almonds is not only relatively healthy but very tasty and refreshing. I had the red ginger coconut bassa Phuket which was done very well and I was too full to finish. My husband had the curry lamb which was also great. My son is the one who remembered the restaurant from our last visit in Canmore and wanted to go back. Our other family members loved it also. The price for 10 ppl including non-alcoholic drinks, appetizers, salads, and dessert, tea was only $300 including tips so really worth it for the quality and quantity of food. The service was also great. The restaurant is named after the owner's grandmother and the owner, Chris, makes all his own plates which adds a unique homey feel to the whole experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Well Prepared Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a great treat to eat food at a Restaurant , where the entire dish does not come from the fridges of a Cisco or Gordan Food Services truck. The quality of the food is really good, great atmosphere and the service is always friendly. This is one of our favorite hang out spots in Canmore. They know how to make a Real Mojito!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We loved our meal. My dairy intolerant partner had the lamb curry and I (a vegetarian) had the mushroom strudel. Both were delicious. Portion sizes were perfect, food was hot and attractively presented. For dessert, I had the chocolate pecan pie which was one of the best I've ever had - focus was on the pecans - not on a heavy crust or chocolate filler. Portion size was again perfect for one. Would like to visit again and try the vegetable korma!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona's Late Night Bistro also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zona's Late Night Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.